Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 PC3-12800 6GB kit

Introduction

Introduction

Crucial Technology should now be called Lexar Media but people in the PC market still recognise and hold value with the Crucial name. Much the same as those in the know will recognise Micron, the company renown for making extremely good integrated chips on memory products. Micron Europe are the parent company of Lexar who have the fingers in almost every memory component you can think of from Solid State Drives to USB flash drives and of course the product we are reviewing to day, PC memory.

The Ballistix brand name is the pinnacle of Crucial's PC memory product line and has been widely used by PC enthusiasts for years thanks to the magnificent overclocking abilities. As overclockers we tend to push things a little too far but fear not because Crucial offer limited lifetime warranty. Backed up by one of the most famous names in the memory sector, you can be assured that the product you are buying is top of the line.

We were very impressed with the last Crucial kit we reviewed so here's hoping for a repeat performance.

Here's what Crucial had to say about their latest DDR3 Kit:

What is Ballistix Tracer memory? Ballistix Tracer memory is specifically built for performance enthusiasts and case modders who want to push the performance envelope while adding flash appeal to their boxes. The Ballistix line of high-performance memory modules features advanced speed grades, low latencies, and integrated aluminium heat spreaders.

We test each individual component through rigorous procedures using advanced DRAM test equipment, and that's before we even put them on module! From there, each individual module undergoes various electrical and synthetic tests. Finally, 100% of our modules are tested on some of the latest motherboards and chipsets deemed capable of running at the rated specifications.


Specification

The following specification was taken directly from the Crucial website.

• Module Size: 6GB kit (2GBx3)
• Package: Ballistix Tracer 240-pin DIMM (with LEDs)
• Feature
: DDR3 PC3-12800
• Bandwidth: 1600MHz
• Latency: 8-8-8-24
• Voltage
: 1.65v

All fairly standard so far and matches the specification of the majority of PC3-12800 kits out there. Perhaps the only noteworthy aspect of the specification is the inclusion of LED's but more on that later in the review.

Let's see how Crucial have presented their latest Ballistix kit...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2009, 15:50:35

JN
"We were very impressed with the last Crucial kit we reviewed so here's hoping for a repeat performance. See how we get on in our latest DDR3 review." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...190201366s.jpg

Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 PC3-12800 6GB kit

12-03-2009, 16:06:02

themcman1
They look nice.

Would prefer them in red though.

Jim - get some to match your bloodrage.

12-03-2009, 16:32:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='themcman1'
They look nice.

Would prefer them in red though.

Jim - get some to match your bloodrage.
These or the Corsair GT's are on my list for sure

12-03-2009, 16:43:10

zak4994
Oh crap Jim now has to choose between Dominator GT or these. Both are good so go for the performance ones lol.

For aesthetics then this is the way to go.

Bit pricey tho'.

12-03-2009, 16:55:11

nunzio
I ordered a set of the DDR2 for my AM2 system on monday, so as long as they preform as nicely as this lot I will be happy.. and the LEDs look so great.

12-03-2009, 17:00:40

HafMaster
Too bad that the chips don't have red led's instead of the green.

The red would be perfect for your case!

Do I see another mod happening here?

12-03-2009, 17:26:46

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HafMaster'
Too bad that the chips don't have red led's instead of the green.

The red would be perfect for your case!

Do I see another mod happening here?
Give him a month

12-03-2009, 17:32:51

JN
Haha even I know my limits. Unsoldering those tiny LED's using a gas soldering iron is NOT a good idea

12-03-2009, 19:30:47

nepas
I hope the lights on these are not as bright as on my DDR2 sticks,these buggers light up the whole bloody room!!

12-03-2009, 19:45:12

HypoglossalXII
Daaayumm. Those are amazing.

Fixed taa - jim

-HypoG

12-03-2009, 22:15:01

HafMaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Haha even I know my limits. Unsoldering those tiny LED's using a gas soldering iron is NOT a good idea
Just keep a fan running on it. It will be OK.

13-03-2009, 04:29:26

w3bbo

One can only assume that the different coloured heatsinks (Red, Blue and Green) would be matched by the same colour LED's but don't quote me on that.



By that I meant that red would have red led's, blue would have blue. I would like to think so anyway.

19-03-2009, 07:27:43

Lynx
They look good in lellow

When i go i7

These are noted!

20-03-2009, 05:09:47

premiumgfx
I still think Patriot's Viper Series Heatspreaders looks better than gimmicky LEDs. What do they do to help the memory perform better?

20-03-2009, 06:24:06

Lynx
They dont, they help the theme of your build

They perform well and look good.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.