Crucial Ballistix PC3-16000 (DDR3-2000) 2GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
When entering into the review of the Crucial Ballistix PC3-16000 our worst fear was that we simply wouldn't be able to get the kit to run at its stock speed of DDR3-2000. After all, an effective speed of 2000mhz for a DDR3 memory kit is simply insane, and coupling it with a fairly immature chipset such as the nForce 790i is just asking for trouble. HOWEVER, Crucial have pulled through yet again by producing a memory kit that is not only insanely fast, but is also rock solid and works as intended with no messing around required.
 
Add to this the fact that we managed to overclock the kit to a respectable DDR3-2114 with only a 0.1v increase in voltage, and also managed to satisfy our hunger for lower latencies by dropping the timings down to 8-8-8-28 while still at DDR3-2000, and the Ballistix show that you don't need fancy heatspreaders or complex cooling to get the best out of their modules.
 
Unfortunately, despite the slight drop in prices for some of the more average speed DDR3 kits, the high end modules still carry quite a hefty price tag.  This is certainly reflected in the price of  the Crucal Ballistix PC3-16000 kit which will set you back a rather hefty £303 from Crucial's online shop.
 
 
The Good
• Stupendously fast stock speed.
• Excellent overclocking potential (DDR3-2144)
• Ability to tighten timings to 7-7-7 at DDR3-1900
• Responds well to increased voltage.
• Works straight out of the box. No Faffing!
 
The Mediocre
• Gold heatspreaders really are getting a bit dated.
• Price....But its coming down slowly!
 
The Bad
• Nothing.
 
 
Overclock3D Performance Award
 
Thanks to Crucial for providing the Ballistix PC3-16000 for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-05-2008, 08:39:59

JN
"With a stock speed of DDR3-2000 Crucial have one extremely fast DDR3 kit on their hands. But will it overclock any further? We find out."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125750600s.jpg

Crucial Ballistix PC3-16000 Review

22-05-2008, 09:07:22

w3bbo
Impressive review m8. Glad to see they hit the magical 2000.

22-05-2008, 09:18:37

Bungral
Nice review Jimbo.

I get the whole argument about timings vs mhz but what is odd is that in the Everest Memory Latency tests with 9-9-9-28, the overclocked settings lost by quite a bit even with the same timings. That overclock seemed to bugger them up quite a bit.

Only lil bit of uniformity seemed to be when the 2144mhz at 9-9-9-28 and the 1902mhz at 7-7-7-28 won out in superpi and 3dmark... But even then it reversed to the other two settings in UT.

Man... The argument runs on.

22-05-2008, 09:49:50

Rastalovich
What bites me atm is 4x1g of this is looking at 600 with some possible playing around with volt/timings to accomodate a non set.

They do a 2x2g set for ~220 or so - now if ur buying components for a new system:

Q6600 + 4x1g (16000 as reviewed) = approx 730/740 ?

QX9650 + 2x2g (pfft who cares) = approx 770/780 ? plus u have a load of flexibility.

(figures are up in the air, but there`s a point to be had)

22-05-2008, 11:40:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Nice review Jimbo.

I get the whole argument about timings vs mhz but what is odd is that in the Everest Memory Latency tests with 9-9-9-28, the overclocked settings lost by quite a bit even with the same timings. That overclock seemed to bugger them up quite a bit.

Only lil bit of uniformity seemed to be when the 2144mhz at 9-9-9-28 and the 1902mhz at 7-7-7-28 won out in superpi and 3dmark... But even the it reversed to the other two settings in UT.

Man... The argument runs on.
Tell me about it :s For a lot of it you can put it down to certain benches liking the higher OC of the CPU or the lower memory timings, but the DDR3-2144 results are just wierd and something that ASUS are actually trying to reproduce at the moment.

22-05-2008, 16:50:58

Hassan
These are one nice looking beasts

Can I have 'em - pretty please
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.