Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 2GB DDR3 Kit

3D Game Results

Quake4
 
Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. Benchmarking was performed using Quake4Bench and a custom timedemo recording along with 0xAA, 0xAF settings at a resolution of 1024x768. The benchmark was set to run a total of 6 times, with the highest and lowest scores being excluded, and an average calculated from the remaining 4 results.
 
Quake4
 
 
F.E.A.R
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. Included in the game is a benchmark facility that taxes the entire PC system. This benchmark was run a total of 6 times, with the highest and lowest result being excluded and an average calculated from the remaining 4 results.
 
F.E.A.R
 
 
UT3
 
Unreal Tournament 3 is the highly anticipated game from Epic Games and Midway. The game uses the latest Unreal engine which combines fast gameplay along with high quality textures and lighting effects. All benchmarks were performed a total of 6 times using UTbench (Bots/DM-BioHazard) with the highest and lowest results being excluded, and an average being calculated from the remaining 4 results.
 
Unreal Tournament 3
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-01-2008, 04:58:31

JN
"Crucial Ballistix DDR2 kits have always been a favourite among overclockers. Today we'll be reviewing the DDR3 incarnation to see if they are worthy of the Ballistix name."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120546639s.jpg

Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 DDR3 Review

24-01-2008, 06:39:52

SuB
nice review

its worth noting that crucial's DDR2 kits now come with the same style heatspreader, no clips and only stuck on (requiring blow torch to remove)

i've got the 8500DDR2 ballistix kit and they look identical to these except for the DDR3 bit on the logo

also the 8500 review cannot be found on the front page under memory

24-01-2008, 06:42:49

Ham
Im slowly becoming a crucial fan i think... These look well good.

Fantastic write up jimbo

24-01-2008, 07:04:22

Rastalovich
154, it`s certainly getting there. Still 300 for 4g.

24-01-2008, 07:30:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'

also the 8500 review cannot be found on the front page under memory
You sure mate? If i go to Memory, I can see the 8500 kit on the lower half of the page. Also if you go to page 2 of memory reviews, the 6400 kit should be there.

24-01-2008, 08:42:37

cybermaniac
where abouts did you find it for 154? i can only find it for 272 in komplett? and 284.34 in crucial :/

24-01-2008, 09:21:56

Bungral
When you say other PC12800 kits have nearly hit 2000mhz.. Which one was that??

I remember the Patriot PC15000 getting very close.

24-01-2008, 09:27:57

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
When you say other PC12800 kits have nearly hit 2000mhz.. Which one was that??

I remember the Patriot PC15000 getting very close.
Exactly, the Patriot came within 14mhz (FSB-wise) of it:

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/patriot_pvs32g1866llk_viper_series_pc3-15000_2gb/3

24-01-2008, 09:46:21

ionicle
they look nice, i've had crucial before, and they've always performed well

24-01-2008, 10:12:40

Mr. Smith
Sweet sticks, good price. Really good price! Step away from the bank card...

24-01-2008, 11:22:59

Toxcity
Wow, Price is coming down!

Nice review Jimbo!

24-01-2008, 12:58:23

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah but you say other 12800 kits.. The Patriot is 15000.. Clock speed 1866MHz at stock so is gonna get closer to the 2000Mhz than then 12800 kits starting at 1600Mhz...

Anyway didn't have time to say nice review earlier as I was running out the door back to work but yeah nice and detailed as always .. Seems a sound piece of kit and prices also seem to be coming down.

24-01-2008, 13:05:19

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Yeah but you say other 12800 kits.. The Patriot is 15000.. Clock speed 1866MHz at stock so is gonna get closer to the 2000Mhz than then 12800 kits starting at 1600Mhz...
My bad. I actually meant this one: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/ocz_platinum_pc3-12800_ddr3-1600_ddr3_2gb_kit/3

DDR3-1946 - close enough for a DDR3-1600 kit?

24-01-2008, 13:08:05

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
My bad. I actually meant this one: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/ocz_platinum_pc3-12800_ddr3-1600_ddr3_2gb_kit/3

DDR3-1946 - close enough for a DDR3-1600 kit?
Yup

I had an inkling about an OCZ DDR3 review but couldn't remember what speed it was or what it hit overclocked..

Wasn't having a go or anything but was just curious which kit hit so close to 2000mhz from 1600mhz

24-01-2008, 13:09:54

cybermaniac
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?

24-01-2008, 13:14:10

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cybermaniac'
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?
I was linked to the BT (yes as in British Telecom) web shop for that price. I was going to link it in the review, but TBH I have no idea what kind of service they provide.

24-01-2008, 13:14:40

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cybermaniac'
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?
No idea mate... Just had a quick scout around and couldn't find it..

Edit: Going on what Jim just said.. Found it: http://www.shop.bt.com/productview.a...150,4294953324

Thats 1gb though not a pair.

25-01-2008, 04:57:59

SuB
found the 8500 review on the memory section lol, didn't realise the adverts were only at half the page lol. deceptive that is, makes you think thats the bottom (thus the page change and loss of review)

hehe cheers anyway loving my crucial ram, just wish i had to time to tweak it all up

15-02-2008, 04:45:03

w3bbo
Iirc BT shop and Dabs are one and the same.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.