Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 2GB DDR3 Kit

Introduction & Specification

Introduction & Specs
 
When it comes to PC Memory, Crucial are one of those companies that every man and his dog will have heard of. With roots stemming from Micron Technology - an OEM memory manufacturer with almost 30 years under its belt, there is no question that Crucial modules are designed by some of the most experienced engineers in the industry. More information on Crucial's history can be found over on their website, but here's a snippet of the best bits:
 
For nearly three decades, Micron has learned that when you make some of the very best memory in the world, lots of companies want it, from computer makers to wireless device manufacturers to printer producers. (And we're really glad that they do!)

But then Micron asked, well, what about the end user? What about the everyday folks who want to upgrade their existing systems with OEM-quality memory — the home desktop user, the IT network guy, the student notebook user? Why don't we offer our memory to the public, at factory-direct pricing?

So in 1996, Micron responded to a growing demand for high-quality memory upgrades among end users who wanted the best possible performance from their systems. Micron launched Crucial Technology in September of that year, and for the first time, end users had the opportunity to buy directly from the manufacturer the same memory modules bought by the world's major OEMs for original installation in their systems.
 
Back in April 2007, Overclock3D was fortunate enough to test Crucial's high-end DDR2 based PC2-8500 Ballistix kit. Showing extremely good performance combined with no-nonsense looks, the kit managed to obtain our Recommended award. This certainly wasn't the first time we'd been impressed by the Ballistix either. Rewind a further 6 months back in the history of Overclock3D memory reviews and we come to the Ballistix PC2-6400 kit that left our labs with both Editors Choice and Value for Money awards.
 
Today we're back once again, but this time taking a look at Crucial's latest DDR3 Ballistix kit. With a stock speed of PC3-12800 and default timings of 8-8-8-24, the kit may not sound anything special when compared to some of the top-end kits by other manufacturers. However, our experience of previous Ballistix kits tells us to reserve our judgements until after the testing. So with this in mind let's take a look at some of the vital stats of these modules from Crucial's website:
  
What is Ballistix memory?
The Ballistix line is specifically built for performance enthusiasts who want to push the performance envelope without worrying about data loss or corruption, mysterious intermittent errors and display problems, or worse — the dreaded BSOD! The Ballistix line of high-performance memory modules features advanced speed grades, low latencies, and integrated aluminum heat spreaders.
 
Specifications
# Module Size: 2GB kit (1GBx2)
# Package: Ballistix 240-pin DIMM
# Feature: DDR3 PC3-12800
# Specs: DDR3 PC3-12800 • 8-8-8-24 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.8V • 128Meg x 64
 
I have to say that I was pretty disappointed by the information available for these modules. It seems that Crucial's website has recently undergone a face-lift and some of the vital information such as warranty duration/terms have not been included. In addition, many other manufacturers also list the maximum voltage that can be used on their modules without risk of voiding the warranty. By omitting this information, Crucial could well be turning a way a large portion of the overclocking crowd.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-01-2008, 04:58:31

JN
"Crucial Ballistix DDR2 kits have always been a favourite among overclockers. Today we'll be reviewing the DDR3 incarnation to see if they are worthy of the Ballistix name."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120546639s.jpg

Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800 DDR3 Review

24-01-2008, 06:39:52

SuB
nice review

its worth noting that crucial's DDR2 kits now come with the same style heatspreader, no clips and only stuck on (requiring blow torch to remove)

i've got the 8500DDR2 ballistix kit and they look identical to these except for the DDR3 bit on the logo

also the 8500 review cannot be found on the front page under memory

24-01-2008, 06:42:49

Ham
Im slowly becoming a crucial fan i think... These look well good.

Fantastic write up jimbo

24-01-2008, 07:04:22

Rastalovich
154, it`s certainly getting there. Still 300 for 4g.

24-01-2008, 07:30:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'

also the 8500 review cannot be found on the front page under memory
You sure mate? If i go to Memory, I can see the 8500 kit on the lower half of the page. Also if you go to page 2 of memory reviews, the 6400 kit should be there.

24-01-2008, 08:42:37

cybermaniac
where abouts did you find it for 154? i can only find it for 272 in komplett? and 284.34 in crucial :/

24-01-2008, 09:21:56

Bungral
When you say other PC12800 kits have nearly hit 2000mhz.. Which one was that??

I remember the Patriot PC15000 getting very close.

24-01-2008, 09:27:57

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
When you say other PC12800 kits have nearly hit 2000mhz.. Which one was that??

I remember the Patriot PC15000 getting very close.
Exactly, the Patriot came within 14mhz (FSB-wise) of it:

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/patriot_pvs32g1866llk_viper_series_pc3-15000_2gb/3

24-01-2008, 09:46:21

ionicle
they look nice, i've had crucial before, and they've always performed well

24-01-2008, 10:12:40

Mr. Smith
Sweet sticks, good price. Really good price! Step away from the bank card...

24-01-2008, 11:22:59

Toxcity
Wow, Price is coming down!

Nice review Jimbo!

24-01-2008, 12:58:23

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Yeah but you say other 12800 kits.. The Patriot is 15000.. Clock speed 1866MHz at stock so is gonna get closer to the 2000Mhz than then 12800 kits starting at 1600Mhz...

Anyway didn't have time to say nice review earlier as I was running out the door back to work but yeah nice and detailed as always .. Seems a sound piece of kit and prices also seem to be coming down.

24-01-2008, 13:05:19

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Yeah but you say other 12800 kits.. The Patriot is 15000.. Clock speed 1866MHz at stock so is gonna get closer to the 2000Mhz than then 12800 kits starting at 1600Mhz...
My bad. I actually meant this one: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/ocz_platinum_pc3-12800_ddr3-1600_ddr3_2gb_kit/3

DDR3-1946 - close enough for a DDR3-1600 kit?

24-01-2008, 13:08:05

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
My bad. I actually meant this one: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/memory/ocz_platinum_pc3-12800_ddr3-1600_ddr3_2gb_kit/3

DDR3-1946 - close enough for a DDR3-1600 kit?
Yup

I had an inkling about an OCZ DDR3 review but couldn't remember what speed it was or what it hit overclocked..

Wasn't having a go or anything but was just curious which kit hit so close to 2000mhz from 1600mhz

24-01-2008, 13:09:54

cybermaniac
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?

24-01-2008, 13:14:10

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cybermaniac'
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?
I was linked to the BT (yes as in British Telecom) web shop for that price. I was going to link it in the review, but TBH I have no idea what kind of service they provide.

24-01-2008, 13:14:40

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cybermaniac'
anyone any ideas on where to get the product for the price listed in the review?
No idea mate... Just had a quick scout around and couldn't find it..

Edit: Going on what Jim just said.. Found it: http://www.shop.bt.com/productview.a...150,4294953324

Thats 1gb though not a pair.

25-01-2008, 04:57:59

SuB
found the 8500 review on the memory section lol, didn't realise the adverts were only at half the page lol. deceptive that is, makes you think thats the bottom (thus the page change and loss of review)

hehe cheers anyway loving my crucial ram, just wish i had to time to tweak it all up

15-02-2008, 04:45:03

w3bbo
Iirc BT shop and Dabs are one and the same.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.