Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2GB DDR2 Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

There's no denying that the Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 modules are champion overclockers. Requiring a modest 2.35v to break the DDR2-1220 barrier, I'm convinced that with a little extra voltage and possibly active cooling, the Ballistix could easily be capable of giving any top-end PC2-9600 kit from another manufacturer a run for its money.

Unfortunately there is a downside - the price. Available only from Crucial's online store, the Ballistix modules wade in at a hefty £275, making them more expensive than some PC2-9200 offerings from other respectable manufacturers.

Komplett


Pros
• Respectable 14% overclock up to DDR2-1220.
• Manages 4-4-4-8 timings at DDR2-1066.
• Packaging ensures safe arrival of your purchase.

Cons
• Very expensive for PC2-8500.
• Heatspreader design may not appeal to everyone.


Recommended Award


Thanks to Crucial for providing the Ballistix modules for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-03-2007, 07:35:54

PV5150
Nvidia's rumoured to be unleashing the beast that is the 8800 Ultra in time for R600's debut. Are Nvidia against the ropes this time around, or are they just sticking the knife in further? Feel free to comment below...

Link

27-03-2007, 07:48:36

a1651
$1000USD MSRP...well if its faster than a R600 Need some benchmarks though.

27-03-2007, 07:58:41

FarFarAway
Gotta love the graphics "game". nVidia are just playing it as usual. This time though I don't know whether ATI will have a product that has better IQ...unlike the X1800/X1900 series.

27-03-2007, 13:33:28

jackvdbuk
why is it ATi are always so late introducing new technology?? it was the same for 9.0C as well, Nvidia are always first to bring it out then ATi follow second :S

27-03-2007, 13:35:26

!TIMMY!
But NVIDIA rushes them out whereas ATI don't, e.g. the whole FX series was shocking. But I still love NVIDIA

27-03-2007, 14:19:33

Ham
^^ fanboy. But seriously, $1000? the most expensive (gamer targeted) card ever?

27-03-2007, 14:54:52

PP Mguire
Damn, thats really exspensive. Can you say prive gouging?

27-03-2007, 15:48:10

Toxcity
8800GTS FTW!

Im sorry Nvidia, you have just lost some respect from moi... $1000 is fooking outrageous!

27-03-2007, 19:04:18

Allsorts
US$1000 doesn't surprise me as a minority of people will be prepared to pay the going rate for the fastest GPU out there. It's getting more and more expensive to stay at the bleeding edge. I gave up a long time ago .

27-03-2007, 19:08:06

Joe
Yes and then ATi will add an extra few MHZ and Pathways .. wont the ''compensation'' competition end .. helltoit as long i can run 2142 @ 1600*1200 in all beauty i wont b upgrading

Not to mention you cant run F@H on nvidia (but they had to release that compiler didnt they)

28-03-2007, 05:50:40

Mr. Smith
$1000 bucks... This has to be something more special than an OC'd 8800GTX.

Any details of architecture/specs?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.