Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2GB DDR2 Kit

Benchmark Results

Benchmark Results

For the benchmark phase of our review, the Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2Gb kit was subjected to several popular benchmarks in order to illustrate outright performance. All benchmarks were run three times and an average taken to guarantee uniformity of the results.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Everest Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Sandra

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Everest Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Sandra

As expected, both Sisoft Sandra and Everest showed the greatest performance advantages with the memory running at DDR2-1220. The lower timings of 4-4-4-8 at DDR2-1066 also offered a small performance improvement over the stock 5-5-5-15 settings.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 SuperPI Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 SuperPI

The same pattern can also be seen in both the SuperPI 1m and 16m results, with the DDR2-1220 results shaving several seconds off the stock and lowered latency (4-4-4-8) settings.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 3Dmark05 Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 3Dmark06

Tighter memory latencies didn't really seem to have much effect on either of the 3DMark suites, with only a negligible amount of points between each of the 533mhz benchmarks. Yet again we can see that the higher frequency DDR2-1220 setting stole the show.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 CSS Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 FEAR

Strangely the real-world gaming benchmarks showed very little difference between each of the settings. This could possibly suggest that the memory subsystem was not a bottleneck in the overall system specification and possibly the graphics card was the limiting factor.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-03-2007, 07:35:54

PV5150
Nvidia's rumoured to be unleashing the beast that is the 8800 Ultra in time for R600's debut. Are Nvidia against the ropes this time around, or are they just sticking the knife in further? Feel free to comment below...

Link

27-03-2007, 07:48:36

a1651
$1000USD MSRP...well if its faster than a R600 Need some benchmarks though.

27-03-2007, 07:58:41

FarFarAway
Gotta love the graphics "game". nVidia are just playing it as usual. This time though I don't know whether ATI will have a product that has better IQ...unlike the X1800/X1900 series.

27-03-2007, 13:33:28

jackvdbuk
why is it ATi are always so late introducing new technology?? it was the same for 9.0C as well, Nvidia are always first to bring it out then ATi follow second :S

27-03-2007, 13:35:26

!TIMMY!
But NVIDIA rushes them out whereas ATI don't, e.g. the whole FX series was shocking. But I still love NVIDIA

27-03-2007, 14:19:33

Ham
^^ fanboy. But seriously, $1000? the most expensive (gamer targeted) card ever?

27-03-2007, 14:54:52

PP Mguire
Damn, thats really exspensive. Can you say prive gouging?

27-03-2007, 15:48:10

Toxcity
8800GTS FTW!

Im sorry Nvidia, you have just lost some respect from moi... $1000 is fooking outrageous!

27-03-2007, 19:04:18

Allsorts
US$1000 doesn't surprise me as a minority of people will be prepared to pay the going rate for the fastest GPU out there. It's getting more and more expensive to stay at the bleeding edge. I gave up a long time ago .

27-03-2007, 19:08:06

Joe
Yes and then ATi will add an extra few MHZ and Pathways .. wont the ''compensation'' competition end .. helltoit as long i can run 2142 @ 1600*1200 in all beauty i wont b upgrading

Not to mention you cant run F@H on nvidia (but they had to release that compiler didnt they)

28-03-2007, 05:50:40

Mr. Smith
$1000 bucks... This has to be something more special than an OC'd 8800GTX.

Any details of architecture/specs?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.