Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2GB DDR2 Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus Commando P965 (unmodded)
Graphics Card: Sapphire ATI X1950Pro 256mb
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: Enermax Infiniti 720w
Operating System: Windows XP SP2



Settings

As with all DDR2 reviews on Overclock3D the Ballistix modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies, tight timings and also ensured that that it could run with 100% stability at stock settings.

DDR2-1066 / 5-5-5-15 / 2.2v

CPUZ CPUZ

It's an unfortunate fact that some memory modules we've tested here at Overclock3D in the past haven't even been able to run stable at stock settings. Sometimes this is down to an incompatibility between the motherboard chipset and memory IC's, and other times the modules just havent been tested extensively at their rated speed. With this in mind, the first test we perform on any modules passing through the OC3D labs is their ability to run at the settings specified by the manufacturer.

I'm pleased to say that the Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 kit passed the stock testing with flying colours, managing to run at 5-5-5-15 / DDR2-1066 with the rated 2.2v.

DDR2-1066 / 4-4-4-6 / 2.35v

CPUZ CPUZ

Increasing the memory voltage to 2.35v allowed the timings to be tightened to a very respectable 4-4-4-8 while still running at DDR-1066. These tighter timings should offer a slight performance boost over the stock settings as I'm sure we will see over the next page.

Attempting to tighten the timings further than this proved unsuccessful regardless of how much extra voltage was used.

DDR2-1220 / 5-5-5-15 / 2.35v

CPUZ CPUZ

One of the most important factors in purchasing RAM modules for most PC enthusiasts is how far they can be overclocked. Previous Crucial Ballistix kits we've tested have proved to be very good in this regard, and I'm pleased to say that things haven't changed with their PC2-8500 kit. Managing an impressive 14% overclock up to 610mhz (DDR2-1220) from the stock 533mhz frequency with only 2.35v, the Ballistix kit should certainly appeal to the overclocking crowd.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-03-2007, 07:35:54

PV5150
Nvidia's rumoured to be unleashing the beast that is the 8800 Ultra in time for R600's debut. Are Nvidia against the ropes this time around, or are they just sticking the knife in further? Feel free to comment below...

Link

27-03-2007, 07:48:36

a1651
$1000USD MSRP...well if its faster than a R600 Need some benchmarks though.

27-03-2007, 07:58:41

FarFarAway
Gotta love the graphics "game". nVidia are just playing it as usual. This time though I don't know whether ATI will have a product that has better IQ...unlike the X1800/X1900 series.

27-03-2007, 13:33:28

jackvdbuk
why is it ATi are always so late introducing new technology?? it was the same for 9.0C as well, Nvidia are always first to bring it out then ATi follow second :S

27-03-2007, 13:35:26

!TIMMY!
But NVIDIA rushes them out whereas ATI don't, e.g. the whole FX series was shocking. But I still love NVIDIA

27-03-2007, 14:19:33

Ham
^^ fanboy. But seriously, $1000? the most expensive (gamer targeted) card ever?

27-03-2007, 14:54:52

PP Mguire
Damn, thats really exspensive. Can you say prive gouging?

27-03-2007, 15:48:10

Toxcity
8800GTS FTW!

Im sorry Nvidia, you have just lost some respect from moi... $1000 is fooking outrageous!

27-03-2007, 19:04:18

Allsorts
US$1000 doesn't surprise me as a minority of people will be prepared to pay the going rate for the fastest GPU out there. It's getting more and more expensive to stay at the bleeding edge. I gave up a long time ago .

27-03-2007, 19:08:06

Joe
Yes and then ATi will add an extra few MHZ and Pathways .. wont the ''compensation'' competition end .. helltoit as long i can run 2142 @ 1600*1200 in all beauty i wont b upgrading

Not to mention you cant run F@H on nvidia (but they had to release that compiler didnt they)

28-03-2007, 05:50:40

Mr. Smith
$1000 bucks... This has to be something more special than an OC'd 8800GTX.

Any details of architecture/specs?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.