Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 2GB DDR2 Kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging

Most memory modules that I've reviewed in the past have been packaged in a clear plastic blister pack. This seems to work well for showing off sexy heatspreader designs, but doesn't always provide optimal protection for the memory against damage.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 DDR2 Box Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Packet

As with the previously reviewed PC2-6400 modules, Crucial have decided to package their Ballistix modules in a double walled cardboard box sealed with a Crucial sticker. This may look very plain, but certainly serves its purpose in protecting the modules contained within. To prevent any damage from static electricity occurring to the memory, each module is individually packaged in a sealed anti-static bag.


Appearance

Crucial have been using the the same heatspreaders for all of their Ballistix range for almost a year now. Therefore it was no surprise to see the PC2-8500 modules furnished with the very same gold clip-on design that we first became acquainted with in the previous Ballistix review.

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Front Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Back

Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 Heatspreader Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 PCB

The Ballistix modules use a full-cover heatspreader design finished in metallic gold paint with an aluminium silver surround. Printed on the right-hand side of the module is a black and red Ballistix logo. A nice touch is the black PCB, which looks rather extreme when compared to the more standard green that we've come to expect from other manufacturers.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-03-2007, 07:35:54

PV5150
Nvidia's rumoured to be unleashing the beast that is the 8800 Ultra in time for R600's debut. Are Nvidia against the ropes this time around, or are they just sticking the knife in further? Feel free to comment below...

Link

27-03-2007, 07:48:36

a1651
$1000USD MSRP...well if its faster than a R600 Need some benchmarks though.

27-03-2007, 07:58:41

FarFarAway
Gotta love the graphics "game". nVidia are just playing it as usual. This time though I don't know whether ATI will have a product that has better IQ...unlike the X1800/X1900 series.

27-03-2007, 13:33:28

jackvdbuk
why is it ATi are always so late introducing new technology?? it was the same for 9.0C as well, Nvidia are always first to bring it out then ATi follow second :S

27-03-2007, 13:35:26

!TIMMY!
But NVIDIA rushes them out whereas ATI don't, e.g. the whole FX series was shocking. But I still love NVIDIA

27-03-2007, 14:19:33

Ham
^^ fanboy. But seriously, $1000? the most expensive (gamer targeted) card ever?

27-03-2007, 14:54:52

PP Mguire
Damn, thats really exspensive. Can you say prive gouging?

27-03-2007, 15:48:10

Toxcity
8800GTS FTW!

Im sorry Nvidia, you have just lost some respect from moi... $1000 is fooking outrageous!

27-03-2007, 19:04:18

Allsorts
US$1000 doesn't surprise me as a minority of people will be prepared to pay the going rate for the fastest GPU out there. It's getting more and more expensive to stay at the bleeding edge. I gave up a long time ago .

27-03-2007, 19:08:06

Joe
Yes and then ATi will add an extra few MHZ and Pathways .. wont the ''compensation'' competition end .. helltoit as long i can run 2142 @ 1600*1200 in all beauty i wont b upgrading

Not to mention you cant run F@H on nvidia (but they had to release that compiler didnt they)

28-03-2007, 05:50:40

Mr. Smith
$1000 bucks... This has to be something more special than an OC'd 8800GTX.

Any details of architecture/specs?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.