Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 DDR2 1GB Kit

Test Setup & Settings

Test Setup

Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6700 "Conroe"
Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe (unmodded)
Graphics Card: Sapphire ATI X1900XT 512mb
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA-II 8mb Cache (RAID0)
Power Supply: PCP&C Silencer 850w
Operating System: Windows XP SP2


Settings

When benchmarking the Ballistix I wanted to be sure to cover all angles. Some people like to run their memory at low latencies, some like to run their memory at high frequencies, whilst others prefer a mixture of both settings. Below is some information regarding the testing procedures and their results:

Stock settings (4-4-4-12 / 400mhz / 2.2v)

CPUZ CPUZ

The first test involved ensuring that the memory could run stable at stock speeds. This may seem a bit of a strange test, but unfortunately some modules we've tested here at OC3D in the past have fallen over at this first hurdle.

I'm pleased to say that the Ballistix passed the stock testing with flying colours, managing to run at 4-4-4-12/DDR2-800 with 2.2v on our Asus P5B-Deluxe test bed.


Highest frequency at stock timings (4-4-4-12 / 530mhz / 2.4v)

CPUZ CPUZ

Without sacrificing the memory latency I set out to find out the maximum frequency that these modules were capable of. By increasing the voltage to 2.4v I was able to push the modules up to 530mhz (DDR2-1060) - a hugely respectable overclock of over 30%! I certainly wasn't expecting anything close to this on the stock timings of 4-4-4-12.

Highest frequency overall (5-5-5-15 / 560mhz / 2.4v)

CPUZ CPUZ

Loosening the memory timings often allows for the memory frequency to be overclocked slightly further. This can be handy for people running high-fsb platforms such as Intel's Core2Duo which requires memory capable of high frequencies in order to get the highest overclock.

Increasing the memory timings from 4-4-4-12 to 5-5-5-15 enabled me to squeeze an extra 30mhz out of the modules bringing the maximum frequency obtainable up to DDR2-1120.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-11-2006, 07:40:49

JN
"Crucial have been in the memory market for a long time, and today I've been given the opportunity to put some of their flagship Ballistix DDR2 modules through their paces."

Link

02-11-2006, 07:44:33

FragTek
You rock sox Jim, awesome review mate... I must say that's some great RAM as well, good to see Crucial utilizing the D9 IC's for their Ballistix lineup. Very odd about the mismatched IC's though, that's a little scary to me Don't know what happened there.

And I for one like the new heatspreaders, I think they look sweet!

02-11-2006, 08:23:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by FragTek
You rock sox Jim, awesome review mate... I must say that's some great RAM as well, good to see Crucial utilizing the D9 IC's for their Ballistix lineup. Very odd about the mismatched IC's though, that's a little scary to me Don't know what happened there.

And I for one like the new heatspreaders, I think they look sweet!
Yeah that was really wierd about the IC's, and i must admit thinking that they wouldnt show much OC potential as a result - but quite the oposite

02-11-2006, 17:41:37

glocktodahead
Nice review there mate, I personally think the heatspreaders look awesome. I'll have to keep this RAM in mind when I upgrade my rig
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.