Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

CineBench and wPrime

Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

CineBench

Consistency is definitely the key here. No matter what the test the Crucial Ballistix Elite is right up at the sharp end. Although it's only fifth in our CineBench R11.5 test, it's only 1.6% behind the highest result we've seen in memory testing.

wPrime

wPrime95 makes good use of the lower timings from the Ballistix Elite to give a healthy score of just under 300 seconds for the 1024M place test.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-03-2012, 07:43:22

tinytomlogan


Today we take a look at a nicely balanced kit from Crucial, the Ballistix Elite.

Continue Reading

07-03-2012, 09:42:14

MaXiMiZe
Great review Bryan. Looks a really good 8gb kit

07-03-2012, 09:47:00

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Great review Tom. Looks a really good 8gb kit
The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.

07-03-2012, 11:46:09

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.
Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom

07-03-2012, 11:49:43

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom
You wrote Bryan looking at your post now. I think murphy7801 just edited the quote to trick you into thinking you wrote Tom .

P.S. Nice review Bryan.

07-03-2012, 14:18:02

B NEGATIVE
This is relevant to my interests.

11-03-2012, 09:51:57

gs941
got some of this stuff, i think that your review of it was spot on as per usual.

24-04-2012, 19:59:45

D3FiANC3
Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.

24-04-2012, 20:15:27

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3FiANC3 View Post

Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.
Just raise the front fan up higher on the tower, that usualy works on 99% motherboards but some boards may have the cpu socket closer to the memory slots than others and may cause fouling with the actually tower part of the d14 rather than the fan.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.