Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

Test Setup and PC Mark Vantage

Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

Test Setup

Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz CAS9
MSI P67A-GD65
Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4GHz
EVGA GTX570
Noctua NH-D14
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Windows 7 64 Bit

Timings

Unquestionably one of the most frustrating things is the appearance of this kit before we've upgraded our test setup. We know that this Ballistix Elite will run at 2133MHz with a bit of voltage prodding, yet the MSI P67A just refused to play ball. Roll on Ivy Bridge and a motherboard that is a more willing partner.

Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

With that disappointment out of the way it's a good opportunity to compare the faster but looser timings of G.Skill Ares with the slower, but much tighter Crucial Ballistix Elite.

PC Mark Vantage

Wow. If ever you needed a demonstration of how, within reason, a tighter set of timings can be equally as beneficial as a fast speed rating, the Ballistix Elite makes a mockery of its 266MHz deficit to be neck and neck with the Ares. An impressive start.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-03-2012, 07:43:22

tinytomlogan


Today we take a look at a nicely balanced kit from Crucial, the Ballistix Elite.

Continue Reading

07-03-2012, 09:42:14

MaXiMiZe
Great review Bryan. Looks a really good 8gb kit

07-03-2012, 09:47:00

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Great review Tom. Looks a really good 8gb kit
The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.

07-03-2012, 11:46:09

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.
Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom

07-03-2012, 11:49:43

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom
You wrote Bryan looking at your post now. I think murphy7801 just edited the quote to trick you into thinking you wrote Tom .

P.S. Nice review Bryan.

07-03-2012, 14:18:02

B NEGATIVE
This is relevant to my interests.

11-03-2012, 09:51:57

gs941
got some of this stuff, i think that your review of it was spot on as per usual.

24-04-2012, 19:59:45

D3FiANC3
Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.

24-04-2012, 20:15:27

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3FiANC3 View Post

Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.
Just raise the front fan up higher on the tower, that usualy works on 99% motherboards but some boards may have the cpu socket closer to the memory slots than others and may cause fouling with the actually tower part of the d14 rather than the fan.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.