Crucial Ballistix 1600mhz & MOD Review

Benchmarks Cont

Crucial Ballistix  MOD review

Benchmarks

wPrime

wPrime is similar to our rendering tests in that it benefits enormously from fast memory. The more memory bandwidth you have available the lower, and therefore better, will be your result. Despite both the Kingston and the Crucial being rated at the same speed and same timings, the Kingston is clearly more efficient gaining 50 seconds over the Crucial.

PC Mark Vantage and 3D Mark Vantage

Finally the two Futuremark suites. As these really stress the entire system as opposed to a single element of it you get a much clearer indication of overall performance. The standard Crucial is now lagging seriously behind and even with the overclock it just can't keep up with the Kingston. The only test is comes close is the GPU section of 3D Mark which is nearly entirely independant of anything but your graphics card.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-07-2010, 03:18:47

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest in the long Ballistix range of RAM from Crucial.

Continue Reading

05-07-2010, 09:28:01

silenthill
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.

05-07-2010, 09:39:05

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.

05-07-2010, 13:08:40

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.
Iíve seen a video which demonstrate Corsair memory with LEDíS so when the memory heats up the LED indicators light up, It didnít appeal to me because when the case door is closed and you donít have a windowed case it will be of no help at all but Tom if you have information that Corsair are manufacturing some models with probes then that is defiantly a step forward.

05-07-2010, 16:39:49

I Hunta x
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.

05-07-2010, 18:02:01

AMDFTW
i have some of the LED ram (XMS2 PRO) it just lit up when they wer being used

06-07-2010, 02:09:59

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.
They look like a Ferrari car

06-07-2010, 04:31:46

F-alienware
I've never really used Crucial ram. It always seemed overpriced.

Good review and really honest too. It's nice to read unbiased reviews where there hasn't been any buttering up. Very rare in this day and age that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.