Crucial Ballistix 1600mhz & MOD Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Software

Crucial Ballistix  MOD review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Software

Test Setup

Intel Core i7 875K @ 3.6GHz
ASUS Maximum Extreme III
ATI HD5870
Corsair HX850
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
4GB Crucial Ballistix MOD

Overclocking

This kit is a bit more of a proof of concept or technical demonstration than something that is designed to be an overclocking beast. So it proved with our overclocking. One of the big problems with the 1.65v limit on the current generation of Intel chips is that when you have some RAM like this, which is pretty much at the limit of the chips ability for the price, you can't really eke any more out of it. It's a far cry from the MOAR VOLTS days.

Despite this we did manage to bump it from the standard 800MHz to 873MHz. We all know how well RAM responds to even the slightest increase in speed and how much difference it can make to your system, so even this mild overclock should give us good results.

Crucial Ballistix MOD review 

Software

This is really the main event. As technical journalists and hardware reviewers we've seen dozens of programs that can give you all the information you could want, so we weren't exactly bowled over by yet another.

However the important thing isn't really this software as such, it's what is going on behind the scenes. This Ballistix comes with a built-in temperature sensor that is a royalty-free open-source addition to the JEDEC standard. In laymans terms this could be genesis for the way all chip temperature monitoring will be done in future.

Anything that helps provide easy comparisons across a wide range of hardware is something that we most definitely want.

Crucial Ballistix MOD review     Crucial Ballistix MOD review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-07-2010, 03:18:47

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest in the long Ballistix range of RAM from Crucial.

Continue Reading

05-07-2010, 09:28:01

silenthill
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.

05-07-2010, 09:39:05

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.

05-07-2010, 13:08:40

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.
Iíve seen a video which demonstrate Corsair memory with LEDíS so when the memory heats up the LED indicators light up, It didnít appeal to me because when the case door is closed and you donít have a windowed case it will be of no help at all but Tom if you have information that Corsair are manufacturing some models with probes then that is defiantly a step forward.

05-07-2010, 16:39:49

I Hunta x
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.

05-07-2010, 18:02:01

AMDFTW
i have some of the LED ram (XMS2 PRO) it just lit up when they wer being used

06-07-2010, 02:09:59

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.
They look like a Ferrari car

06-07-2010, 04:31:46

F-alienware
I've never really used Crucial ram. It always seemed overpriced.

Good review and really honest too. It's nice to read unbiased reviews where there hasn't been any buttering up. Very rare in this day and age that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.