Crucial Ballistix 1600mhz & MOD Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Crucial Ballistix MOD review

Introduction

RAM has always been one of those curious things that makes a huge difference to the performance of your system, and yet isn't considered by most people as a worthy upgrade.

Sure we all know that size matters. The main reason that most people consider PCs to be poor performers are because the standard PCs brought "off the shelf" from your local PC World or similar always, but always, come with far too little RAM. Thankfully RAM prices are such now that everyone should be running 4GB at minimum. It's a far cry from when I paid £75 for 512KB of RAM back in the day.

Crucial were one of the first companies to bring us memory that didn't just look like chips on a board, with the gold Ballistix series. Other RAM brands have come and gone, or been renamed to sound fresh, but Ballistix has stayed with us for many a year now.

So what have we got on the bench today?

Technical Specifications

Probably a surprise to anyone who hears the name "Ballistix" and automatically assumes this must be some high-end low-CAS beast, this is 1600MHz CAS8. It's a 4GB kit designed for the P55 platform which has really started to show it's worth as a slightly cheaper alternative to the full-fat X58.

Kit NameBallistix MOD
Kit Size2x2GB 240-pin Unbuffered DIMM
Kit CodeBL2KIT25664FN1608
Voltage1.65v
Speed1600MHz
Timings8-8-8-24
XMPSupported (1600MHz @ 8-8-8-24 @ 1.65v)
Size45mm
Special FeatureOn-board I2C temperature sensor

 

Although kit codes are normally fairly easy to understand and not a lot of interest to anyone, this one actually hides the secret of todays review. The FN is specific to this module as it designates that this contains the on-board temperature sensor. More of which in a bit.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-07-2010, 03:18:47

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest in the long Ballistix range of RAM from Crucial.

Continue Reading

05-07-2010, 09:28:01

silenthill
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.

05-07-2010, 09:39:05

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
The On-board I2C temperature sensor is really a cool feature and now we will be able to know when our RAM is cooking, wonder if HWMonitor utility will detect it too.
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.

05-07-2010, 13:08:40

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
HWmonitor didnt with the latest version available. I have heard corsair have sneaked out a lot of ram with thermal probes built in.
Iíve seen a video which demonstrate Corsair memory with LEDíS so when the memory heats up the LED indicators light up, It didnít appeal to me because when the case door is closed and you donít have a windowed case it will be of no help at all but Tom if you have information that Corsair are manufacturing some models with probes then that is defiantly a step forward.

05-07-2010, 16:39:49

I Hunta x
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.

05-07-2010, 18:02:01

AMDFTW
i have some of the LED ram (XMS2 PRO) it just lit up when they wer being used

06-07-2010, 02:09:59

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
If your the kind of person that builds for looks and not all out raw power/the best bang for buck these wouldnt be a bad kit kit at all, one of the few i can recall recently with black pcb's little details like that can mean alot to some people who would be happy not to overclock it and get a few % lower performance for that well finished look. IMO aslong as it is priced around the same as equivilent stock speeded kits its not to bad at all.
They look like a Ferrari car

06-07-2010, 04:31:46

F-alienware
I've never really used Crucial ram. It always seemed overpriced.

Good review and really honest too. It's nice to read unbiased reviews where there hasn't been any buttering up. Very rare in this day and age that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.