Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4GB Kit

Compression & Encoding Results

 
ViMark is the latest addition to the OC3D testing process and a relatively new benchmarking application in general. Designed to take the inaccuracies and guesswork out of measuring the time taken to encode video files, ViMark produces easily comparable and consistent results for encoding Windows Media, Quicktime, AVI and Gif files.
 
ViMark Windows Media Results
 
ViMark Apple Quicktime Results
 
ViMark AVI Results
 
ViMark GIF Results
 
 
 
7-Zip is an open source winzip-style file compression utility that has the ability to compress and decompress many file formats including it's own .7z compression scheme. 7-Zip also comes complete with its own benchmarking utility for gauging the compression and decompression speed of the system that it is installed on.
 
7Zip Compression Results
 
7Zip Decompression Results
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-04-2008, 09:27:46

llwyd
Got RAM? ....no? Well Corsair might have just what youre looking for

Check out the full review HERE and roll on the feedback

17-04-2008, 09:44:18

Rastalovich
Great review m8.

Bought these last week.

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.

17-04-2008, 09:50:10

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke

(and thanks )

17-04-2008, 09:53:27

Rastalovich
hehe ya, I`m kinda in a safemode atm after my previous memory crapped it.

It`s mighty sharpe 333x10 cpu, 1:1.2 memory.

17-04-2008, 10:22:34

ionicle
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2

EDIT *hits head against wall*

i read the whole review, first to last word, and still thought it was DDR3

aye, nice though, definatly

17-04-2008, 10:29:01

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2
Lucky this kit is DDR2 then

17-04-2008, 10:56:53

Toxcity
Awwh, good review.. very nice read.

But it brings back memorys of me breaking mine.

17-04-2008, 12:50:18

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke
Love it!

Sweet review and those bad boys OC well

17-04-2008, 16:35:15

ali_james
Sweet review man, I might get some of that as my 2 gig of XMS2 doesn't OC that well.

I can't believe how cheap memory is now, a few months ago when I built my rig my memory cost almost 50quid for 2 gigs. Now I've just got hold of 2 gig of ram for my EEE and that cost 20. Ridiculously cheap.

Nice one!

17-04-2008, 16:47:02

MikeEnIke
Nice review mate, pretty nice kit too.

17-04-2008, 16:59:03

Hatman
Just got some of these too muahah. Arrive friday so hopefully ill have as good results with them as you guys did

still here btw new cpu coming friday I believe just 1 problem after another with gcses friends breaking up etc etc.

01-05-2008, 06:10:52

Brains11
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.

__________________________________

ASUS Rampage

Intel C2D E6600@3,4Ghz, Scythe Infinity

Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

Sparkle 8800GT 726/1850/2000

01-05-2008, 06:53:54

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brains11'
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken

01-05-2008, 07:58:41

Brains11
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken
Yea, btw I've got the same results with 2.2V. Increasing the voltage to 2.3V made no difference at all.

My system won't even boot if I go beyond 4-4-4-12@850

01-05-2008, 08:00:25

Rastalovich
I would have thought 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-18, dunno if that`d be any use.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.