Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4GB Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
Processor
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x 4MB
 
Motherboard
• Asus Rampage Formula X48 DDR2
 
Cooling
• OCZ Vendetta 2 + Stock Fan

Memory
Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4GB Kit (4-4-4-12)
OCZ Platinum 4GB Kit (5-4-4-15)

Graphics Card
• Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E

Hard Disk
• Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb

Operating System
• Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
 
To allow for a broad range of reliable results, the following benchmarking tests were used:
  
 Synthetic Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Settings & Overclocking
 
As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the XMS2 DHX modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies with stock timings, high frequencies with loosened timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised speed, latency and voltage settings.
 

Highest Frequencies & Stock Timings
DDR2 883 / 4-4-4-12 / 2.3v

 cpuz screenshot  cpuz screenshot
 
With the timings kept at the fairly low stock settings of 4-4-4-12 and the voltage upped to 2.3v, the XMS2 DHX kit managed to achieve a healthy overclock of 42 Mhz (DDR2 83) which took the overall bus speed to DDR2-883
 
 
 Highest Frequencies & Relaxed Timings
DDR2 1149 / 5-5-5-12 / 2.3v
 
cpuz screenshot  cpuz screenshot
 
With the timings loosened a little to 5-5-5-12 and the voltage kept at 2.3v, the XMS2 DHX managed an impressive overclock of 174 Mhz (DDR2 349), bringing the kit to a fantastic DDR2 speed of 1149. All the results taken were tested for absolute stability with OCCT stress testing.
 
 
Maximum Overclock
 
For the purpose of comparison, the XMS2 DHX kits results in all the testing carried out, will be displayed alongside those of the similar OCZ Platinum Kit. Both 4GB kits cost around the same price and carry the same native speed ratings.
 
The first comparison we can draw is between the two overclocks obtained with these kits:
 
Overclock Results
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-04-2008, 09:27:46

llwyd
Got RAM? ....no? Well Corsair might have just what youre looking for

Check out the full review HERE and roll on the feedback

17-04-2008, 09:44:18

Rastalovich
Great review m8.

Bought these last week.

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.

17-04-2008, 09:50:10

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke

(and thanks )

17-04-2008, 09:53:27

Rastalovich
hehe ya, I`m kinda in a safemode atm after my previous memory crapped it.

It`s mighty sharpe 333x10 cpu, 1:1.2 memory.

17-04-2008, 10:22:34

ionicle
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2

EDIT *hits head against wall*

i read the whole review, first to last word, and still thought it was DDR3

aye, nice though, definatly

17-04-2008, 10:29:01

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2
Lucky this kit is DDR2 then

17-04-2008, 10:56:53

Toxcity
Awwh, good review.. very nice read.

But it brings back memorys of me breaking mine.

17-04-2008, 12:50:18

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke
Love it!

Sweet review and those bad boys OC well

17-04-2008, 16:35:15

ali_james
Sweet review man, I might get some of that as my 2 gig of XMS2 doesn't OC that well.

I can't believe how cheap memory is now, a few months ago when I built my rig my memory cost almost 50quid for 2 gigs. Now I've just got hold of 2 gig of ram for my EEE and that cost 20. Ridiculously cheap.

Nice one!

17-04-2008, 16:47:02

MikeEnIke
Nice review mate, pretty nice kit too.

17-04-2008, 16:59:03

Hatman
Just got some of these too muahah. Arrive friday so hopefully ill have as good results with them as you guys did

still here btw new cpu coming friday I believe just 1 problem after another with gcses friends breaking up etc etc.

01-05-2008, 06:10:52

Brains11
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.

__________________________________

ASUS Rampage

Intel C2D E6600@3,4Ghz, Scythe Infinity

Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

Sparkle 8800GT 726/1850/2000

01-05-2008, 06:53:54

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brains11'
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken

01-05-2008, 07:58:41

Brains11
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken
Yea, btw I've got the same results with 2.2V. Increasing the voltage to 2.3V made no difference at all.

My system won't even boot if I go beyond 4-4-4-12@850

01-05-2008, 08:00:25

Rastalovich
I would have thought 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-18, dunno if that`d be any use.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.