Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4GB Kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance
 
Memory modules are not often treated to nice lavish packaging. The usual solution is to encase the product in a vacuum molded, plastic blister pack. While this offers buyers a good look at what their money is actually buying and allows the more eye catching modules out there to stand out were they stocked on a shelf, it does not offer a great deal of protection for the contents. Admittedly, however, the aluminium heat spreaders seen on all mid to high performance kits will add considerable durability in the hands of clumsy couriers.
 
The XMS2 DHX follows the current trend in this department and is distributed in the normal plastic packaging. The front of the packaging is fairly distraction free, sporting the XMS colours and memory quantity, generally giving the modules center stage. The back side of the packaging has some basic information about the modules and their DHX heat spreaders, a cut-away diagram of the memory, details of Corsairs optional AirFlow DIMM cooling system (designed to accomodate the DHX modules additional height) and of course the usual contact details.
 
Packaging Front Packaging Back
 
One thing you will notice the packaging is void of is any specifications apart from the size. I can only guess this is to allow the use of the same packaging inserts across the whole XMS2 DHX range. For proof of the contents one will have to refer to the price check sticker on the back of the packet, which carries the modules full part number, which contains the memory rating and overall size of the kit.  While this is not really a problem for those buying from online retailers and those who know what they're looking for, it could possibly lead to some confusion off the shelf or pre / post shipping. On the whole though there are certainly no product specific shortfalls to report.
 
Modules Front  Modules Back
 
Module Labels  Module End
 
Visually the kit is definitely not the every day set of ram. The huge ridged heat spreaders, adorned with four rows of heat dispersing blades, encase extra large black PCBs. The XMS2 stickers adding an eye catching streak of colour. In the fourth picture above you get a look at the point of this additional height and elaborate heatsink.
 
The extra few millimeters of PCB are plated with a thin layer of metal which looks to be the same coating used on the pins. This is then in turn connected to the center two rows of the heatsink, allowing for dispersion of not only IC generated heat but also the heat in the PCB.
 
Heatsink Top view   Heatsink End View 
 
Usually at this point we would remove the heat spreaders from the modules to take at look at the choice of IC's in use. Due to the construction of the heat spreaders however, removal would have been abnormally risky and particularly difficult. For those who are interested, we have done the research for you and can tell you this revision of the modules uses chips produced by Powerchip Semiconductor Corp. Another thing worth mentioning is the double sided distribution of the ICs, this works in favour of the kit, allowing greater utilization of the heatsink.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-04-2008, 09:27:46

llwyd
Got RAM? ....no? Well Corsair might have just what youre looking for

Check out the full review HERE and roll on the feedback

17-04-2008, 09:44:18

Rastalovich
Great review m8.

Bought these last week.

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.

17-04-2008, 09:50:10

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke

(and thanks )

17-04-2008, 09:53:27

Rastalovich
hehe ya, I`m kinda in a safemode atm after my previous memory crapped it.

It`s mighty sharpe 333x10 cpu, 1:1.2 memory.

17-04-2008, 10:22:34

ionicle
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2

EDIT *hits head against wall*

i read the whole review, first to last word, and still thought it was DDR3

aye, nice though, definatly

17-04-2008, 10:29:01

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2
Lucky this kit is DDR2 then

17-04-2008, 10:56:53

Toxcity
Awwh, good review.. very nice read.

But it brings back memorys of me breaking mine.

17-04-2008, 12:50:18

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke
Love it!

Sweet review and those bad boys OC well

17-04-2008, 16:35:15

ali_james
Sweet review man, I might get some of that as my 2 gig of XMS2 doesn't OC that well.

I can't believe how cheap memory is now, a few months ago when I built my rig my memory cost almost 50quid for 2 gigs. Now I've just got hold of 2 gig of ram for my EEE and that cost 20. Ridiculously cheap.

Nice one!

17-04-2008, 16:47:02

MikeEnIke
Nice review mate, pretty nice kit too.

17-04-2008, 16:59:03

Hatman
Just got some of these too muahah. Arrive friday so hopefully ill have as good results with them as you guys did

still here btw new cpu coming friday I believe just 1 problem after another with gcses friends breaking up etc etc.

01-05-2008, 06:10:52

Brains11
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.

__________________________________

ASUS Rampage

Intel C2D E6600@3,4Ghz, Scythe Infinity

Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

Sparkle 8800GT 726/1850/2000

01-05-2008, 06:53:54

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brains11'
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken

01-05-2008, 07:58:41

Brains11
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken
Yea, btw I've got the same results with 2.2V. Increasing the voltage to 2.3V made no difference at all.

My system won't even boot if I go beyond 4-4-4-12@850

01-05-2008, 08:00:25

Rastalovich
I would have thought 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-18, dunno if that`d be any use.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.