Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400 4GB Kit

Introduction

Introduction
 
Corsair XMS2 DHX PC2-6400With the current pace of hardware development it is all too easy to let the mainstream, affordable tech fall by the wayside. The DDR2 module is still the mainstay of the enthusiast memory market and has recently been overshadowed by DDR3. Today, however, we are taking a look at a 4GB kit of Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400 sporting the patented DHX heat spreader technology.
 
Up until recently, with the launch of memory hungry Windows Vista, quantities of memory in the range of 4GB and above would have been deemed excessive in a desktop computer - regardless of how many demanding games you could throw at it. In past months however, with the release of several ground breaking games and increasing popularity of Vista 64-bit, 4GB has become somewhat of a necessity for the hardcore gamer.
 
The specifications for the memory modules we are looking at today are as follows:
  
Sporting Corsair’s signature fin memory heat sink and patented heat-removing printed circuit board design, the new XMS2 DHX products feature mainstream performance while promoting increased stability. DHX technology allows this memory to have superior thermal characteristics to enable it to run cooler than a module with stamped or mesh heat spreaders. The result is enabled superior reliability, stability and performance capability.. It has been tested extensively in multiple DDR2 motherboards to ensure compatibility and performance at its rated speed.
 
Part Number: TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
Speed:  PC2-6400 (800mhz)
Size: 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Latency: 4-4-4-12
Pins: 240
 
So on the face of things, there is nothing revolutionary about what the memory is offering. The patented DHX technology however certainly has promise, the system aims to provide a direct metal to metal contact between the inner plates of the heat sink and the tracks on the modules PCB. Studies carried out show substantial amounts of the heat generated by IC's is still conducted into the PCB, meaning the DHX system is currently the only solution on the market to this problem. Hopefully this technology will stand the memory in good stead when it comes to pushing up the Mhz.
 
As with all of Corsairs RAM, the XMS2 DHX kit is covered by an extremely reassuring life time warranty providing the memory was purchased through Corsair or one of their many authorized retailers. Further details on Corsairs warranty policy can be viewed here.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-04-2008, 09:27:46

llwyd
Got RAM? ....no? Well Corsair might have just what youre looking for

Check out the full review HERE and roll on the feedback

17-04-2008, 09:44:18

Rastalovich
Great review m8.

Bought these last week.

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.

17-04-2008, 09:50:10

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Only running them @ 1.8v 400, 4-4-4-12/2T, working very well atm.
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke

(and thanks )

17-04-2008, 09:53:27

Rastalovich
hehe ya, I`m kinda in a safemode atm after my previous memory crapped it.

It`s mighty sharpe 333x10 cpu, 1:1.2 memory.

17-04-2008, 10:22:34

ionicle
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2

EDIT *hits head against wall*

i read the whole review, first to last word, and still thought it was DDR3

aye, nice though, definatly

17-04-2008, 10:29:01

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks nice

shame (Afaik) that there's no amd motherboards that take DDR3 yet, i believe the best still only take DDR2
Lucky this kit is DDR2 then

17-04-2008, 10:56:53

Toxcity
Awwh, good review.. very nice read.

But it brings back memorys of me breaking mine.

17-04-2008, 12:50:18

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
You got hair on your peaches or what? clock those suckers :stickpoke
Love it!

Sweet review and those bad boys OC well

17-04-2008, 16:35:15

ali_james
Sweet review man, I might get some of that as my 2 gig of XMS2 doesn't OC that well.

I can't believe how cheap memory is now, a few months ago when I built my rig my memory cost almost 50quid for 2 gigs. Now I've just got hold of 2 gig of ram for my EEE and that cost 20. Ridiculously cheap.

Nice one!

17-04-2008, 16:47:02

MikeEnIke
Nice review mate, pretty nice kit too.

17-04-2008, 16:59:03

Hatman
Just got some of these too muahah. Arrive friday so hopefully ill have as good results with them as you guys did

still here btw new cpu coming friday I believe just 1 problem after another with gcses friends breaking up etc etc.

01-05-2008, 06:10:52

Brains11
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.

__________________________________

ASUS Rampage

Intel C2D E6600@3,4Ghz, Scythe Infinity

Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

Sparkle 8800GT 726/1850/2000

01-05-2008, 06:53:54

llwyd
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brains11'
Unfortenately, my results are not that good. I am able to push them till 5-5-5-12@1050, 2.3V or 4-4-4-12@850, 2.3V. My rig is almost the same as the test setup.
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken

01-05-2008, 07:58:41

Brains11
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Thats a shame Does happen though, different batches clock better than others.

You sure you could only get 850 out of them at stock timings? thats a lot of volts to not get more than a 50mhz OC. If thats the case I would even go as far as calling them broken
Yea, btw I've got the same results with 2.2V. Increasing the voltage to 2.3V made no difference at all.

My system won't even boot if I go beyond 4-4-4-12@850

01-05-2008, 08:00:25

Rastalovich
I would have thought 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-18, dunno if that`d be any use.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.