Corsair Dominator Platinum Review

CineBench and wPrime

Corsair Dominator Platinum Review

CineBench R11.5

Performance in CineBench is a little less impressive. Indeed of the four kits we've tested since moving to the i7-3770K it's the lowest scoring one. 

 

wPrime

wPrime results are very good indeed. It's not better than the outstanding Kingston Predator, but it runs the best of the rest very close.

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-12-2012, 06:54:16

tinytomlogan
It's rare to find RAM that's been given the bling treatment, but the Dominator Platinum is certainly one.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...055907378l.jpg


Continue Reading

03-12-2012, 07:09:31

Bang
No link to a review mate?

03-12-2012, 07:12:10

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bang View Post
No link to a review mate?
it takes a while to go on. there's always a delay

03-12-2012, 07:26:26

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bang View Post
No link to a review mate?
Front page.... LOL

03-12-2012, 07:34:42

Swinder
I love my Mushkin but these new DOM's are stunning. I think it is time for the other brands to match these in terms of looks.

03-12-2012, 07:35:00

dipzy
will be picking up a few sets of platinum's soon

03-12-2012, 09:53:07

233Kosta
Christmas present - SORTED! It's time to move on from ye olde 1866 Dom GT kit.

Hmm... I wonder how well this will overclock.......

http://img-cache.cdn.gaiaonline.com/...s/me-gusta.png

03-12-2012, 10:23:48

Fez
Stunning bit of kit, white case, cables, and these would look nuts

03-12-2012, 13:02:25

Saltire35
Don't think I could justify 300 quid for RAM no matter how fast it is.

03-12-2012, 19:08:04

Nurf
Seems like still no word of the release date of the light bars with colored leds
Just have to hope that soon means soon.

03-12-2012, 19:16:09

JLR
Very nice looking RAM and not OTT.

11-12-2012, 14:52:24

Cody_h4x
Pretty detailed and very well explained, those modules look so nice

16-12-2012, 21:35:24

KookieCutter88
this memory looks so cool in the machine

18-12-2012, 13:07:19

Fidel
they look intense!

23-12-2012, 04:54:07

PsyTech
The Mother of all RAM!

30-12-2012, 17:58:25

Geee-master
This is such nice memory, shame its way out of budget for a machine!

02-01-2013, 20:36:12

S.T.A.L.K.E.R
Everything from Corsair is perfect...i dont have words for this quallity

05-01-2013, 07:21:25

Vlada011
Perfect things don't exist but definitely CORSAIR have best designers and when you look close their hardware that look more expensive and better than competition. Almost every products is awarded with many awards and first or in first three. And It's not only best designers, they think on modern way.
You will see Obsidian 900D and whole this thing with CORSAIR Link and monitoring and everything is one step above every other manufacturer. I mean if you use and spend money and make whole PC CORSAIR, whole PC CM, whole PC I don't know other brands(not whole 70% because they don't make everything) you will see how that is above competition and how price is similar or only little over something is cheaper. Some people call overhyped... hype and I don't know... But look close... I don't know H100 cooler, look mechanism for holding pump, look memory heatsink, PSU units, box, package, when you pay that you know that worth exactly that price...you have not feeling Ohhh this look so cheap when hold in hand...
I remember exactly, like I saw yesterday when I decide CORSAIR 60-70% of my PC. That was one black Graphite 600T with 2xHD5870 or HD5970 and H70 Cooler and Dominator RAM 2009 maybe... I liked their RAM and PSU years before that but at that moment I figure out that is my style and how I look on PC.
Now my PC 60-70% is CORSAIR I think I'm on every list when retailer decide to import few peaces of something. I chased them 5 months for these memory and they forgot to import. I was mad. Before that they always on time import me what I ask..

05-01-2013, 07:31:58

Vlada011
Perfect things don't exist but definitely CORSAIR have best designers and when you look close their hardware that look more expensive and better than competition. Probably invest more in research and testing before launch something. Almost every products is awarded with many awards and first or in first three. And It's not only best designers, they think on modern way.
You will see Obsidian 900D and whole this thing with CORSAIR Link and monitoring and everything is one step above every other manufacturer. I mean if you use and spend money and make whole PC CORSAIR, whole PC CM, whole PC I don't know other brands(not whole 70% because they don't make everything) you will see how that is above competition and how price is similar or only little over something is cheaper. Some people call overhyped... hype and I don't know... But look close... I don't know H100 cooler, look mechanism for holding pump, look memory heatsink, PSU units, box, package, when you pay that you know that worth exactly that price...you have not feeling Ohhh this look so cheap when hold in hand...
I remember exactly, like I saw yesterday when I decide CORSAIR 60-70% of my PC. That was one black 600T with 2xHD5870 or HD5970 and H70 Cooler and Dominator RAM... I liked their RAM and PSU years before that but at that moment I figure out that is my style and how I look on PC.
Now my PC 60-70% is CORSAIR.

Yes Dominator is expensive little but that is flagship, if you imagine PC Memory you see Dominator in front of eyes.

14-01-2013, 11:17:16

Koolzy
Amazing RAM. For me the best looking RAM. Nice pics and review

14-01-2013, 13:13:13

Jakes
This is so much going into my next build :P

23-01-2013, 00:34:54

BustedHead
awesome memory

23-01-2013, 02:40:29

KING_OF_SAND
I got my 1866 plat to 2133 with ease!

23-01-2013, 04:01:05

233Kosta
Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post
I got my 1866 plat to 2133 with ease!
That's been possible for a while now, my Dominator GTs do that going from 9-9-9-24 to 10-10-10-24. No change to Vram. I'd expect them to go to 2400 if they really are the jump they're said to be. Of course you need a chip that can run them at 2400, but with some tweaking - should be possible... IF they're as good as they say they are. I've not tested - I can't really speak for the Platinums

01-02-2013, 14:35:24

mastercrim
awsome RAM but to tall unless your watercooling which is why i had to go with the LP vengence series.

01-02-2013, 14:41:54

KING_OF_SAND
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastercrim View Post
awsome RAM but to tall unless your watercooling which is why i had to go with the LP vengence series.
You would be surprised how much heat those plats dissipate heat. The heat sinks do get toasty when you overclock them.

14-02-2013, 21:30:30

remember300
you said about the cables making it messy if you look on the back of the ram behind the link part you have the solder points if they added a dual mount the sticks could be linked by small clips which could have the same finish as the ram and have 1 cable do all, if i did not want to void my warranty and possibly waste money id of made it by now
love the ram just thinking of getting the blue glow rod but keeping the non cut heads on, i like the subtle glow
maybe i could try milling out the dominator wording so the glow can be see coming through there too. if only i have the money to try it

14-02-2013, 23:52:44

Rich_
if u want lights on ur ram just get the crucial ballistix stuff dont think they got any sexy white lights tho

15-02-2013, 03:51:49

remember300
I like the subtle light they cast on to the board. Nothing more other wise id not of gone for the platnium ram. I just think by milling out the dominator word and putting a coloured translucent material there would add to the great and high end feel to the ram.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.