Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Corsair have done a great job of refreshing the old Dominator modules. The new and improved Dominator GT 1866 6GB kit showed some great improvements were to be had across all of the benchmarks I ran today.
 
Overclocking the Dominator GT's was a very thrilling experience as I just didn't know when they would stop. I could lower the latencies or I could increase the bandwidth depending on my preferences with the bandwidth topping out at an amazing 2128MHz with 8-8-8-24 timings! This is some achievement from Corsair and while I do not advocate running 1.7v through DDR3 (as this goes above what Intel recommend so who am I to argue), I would say that for the overclocker who thrives on benchmarking, this kit will serve you very well indeed. I have little doubt that increasing the voltage further would allow even higher gains but my bravery ran out when the editor gave me some worrying looks.
 
The packaging is adequate, nothing more and nothing less. However as this kit was not a full retail package it is hard to assess what the end-user will receive but the package that landed on my doorstep was enough to ensure they kit arrived safe and sound and free from damage. The kit itself is very alluring and simply feels expensive. The weight of the modules also adds to this sense of value. The colour scheme may not match all motherboards but the modules certainly draw the eye to themselves and distinguish themselves very well from lesser products. If you have these in your setup then others will certainly know you are serious about performance.
 
Perhaps the only draw back of the kit is the price. Although DDR3 prices have plummeted of late, the high end kits and especially those kits with low latencies still command a premium. Costing a smidge over £250 they certainly cannot be described as cheap nor can they possibly be the sensible choice for the average Joe who just wants a kit to run your every day i7 based PC. It's hard to belive that we were paying this amount for 2GB of 1066MHz DDR2 not so long ago! The Dominator GT's are not aimed at the average Joe though, they are clearly marketed towards the extreme performance enthusiast and if you find yourself in this niche market then I cannot recommend this kit more as price aside, they have to be one of the best DDR3 6GB kits on sale today.
 
The Good
- Great looks
- Astonishing overclocking ability
- Modular cooling design can be added to
 
The Mediocre
- Included cooling fan is still noisy
- May need tweaking to setup correctly
- Speed reliant on a strong CPU memory controller
 
The Bad
- Nothing to report
 
 
Thanks to Corsair for providing the Dominator GT 6GB kit for today's review. Discuss in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-05-2009, 07:55:52

JN
"Hoping for a top of the line 6GB DDR3 kit that not only performs well but looks the business too? Maybe Corsair have the answer to your prayers. Check it out our latest memory review..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195437657s.jpg

Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

18-05-2009, 08:01:05

AntiHeroUK
That is some mightily impressive memory there. You get what you pay for in this case, even if it is a small fortune..super sexy too

18-05-2009, 08:06:00

Mul.
Blimey, that Dominator GT kit really goes like stink! I'm surprised about how much the added bandwith and tighter timings affected framerates. Questionable value for money but if one really wants the best, this memory kit seems to be quite a candidate. Excellent review w3bbo

18-05-2009, 08:29:34

TopSecret
Nice review. I am thinking about swapping out my memory on my current rig, but I think this kit is a bit too much for my pocket. Here's hoping the price drops quick

18-05-2009, 08:38:25

Ging3r
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*

18-05-2009, 10:30:29

BloomerzUK
Won't these go in your rig well Jim

Nice review Webbo.

18-05-2009, 10:46:53

limpkorn
That kit is very nice. I'm hoping both the 1866 and 2000mhz kits drop in price a bit so I can change out my modules I think I'm being hinder currently on my overclock by my current set.

18-05-2009, 11:32:17

Pyr0
very nice

i'd like to try some memory based on the elpida hyper chips, but they're a bit out of my price range at the moment

18-05-2009, 12:35:52

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Won't these go in your rig well Jim
I think they already are...

He mentioned Dominator GT in his build.

18-05-2009, 13:11:38

w3bbo
Cheers for the kind comments guys. The Dominator GT's really are a grand bit of kit, sadly Jim has his beady eyes on these. However, I have a potentially faster kit on review atm.

21-05-2009, 14:14:32

cl0ck_ed
I don't understand why the 1600 is faster than 1866 in sup pi 1m??

Can anyone shed any light?

21-05-2009, 14:29:10

Mul.
Good question. Pi 1M is usually a pretty poor measure of how fast a setup is but that is a little odd.

21-05-2009, 15:21:14

w3bbo
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.

21-05-2009, 15:27:59

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.
Are you able to set the gt dominators at 1600 and the same timings to see if the results are still the same? The newer bios may be bloated and have a detrimental effect of sup pi scores.

21-05-2009, 19:35:31

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ging3r'
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*
this is perfect compliment to any mid-range x58...

how could we resist whistling...

The Dominator brand from Corsair just set the record for fastest ddr3 and as a 6gb kit

21-05-2009, 21:38:44

w3bbo
LOL I doubt very much you will be seeing this kit in a competition, that is unless Jimbo is feeling exceptionally generous.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.