Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

Synthetic Benchmarks



SiSoftware Sandra
(the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.

 
 
 
 
 
 


Everest
 
Focusing mainly on software and hardware information reporting, Everest also comes with a benchmark utility suitable for testing the read, write and latency performance of the memory subsystem. Each of these benchmarks were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining 3.
 
 
 
 
 
Super PI
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
 
 
 Results Observations
 
Sisoft Sandra showed just how much more bandwidth the Dominator GT's allow. Everest also showed  the Dominator GT's to be by far the faster modules.
 
SuperPI again showed the GT's to be superior even though the original Dominators got off to a quick start with the 1m run. Over a greater amount of time though the Dominator GT's showed their worth beating its forbear by a fair margin.
 
Let's move on to the 3D benchmarks...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-05-2009, 07:55:52

JN
"Hoping for a top of the line 6GB DDR3 kit that not only performs well but looks the business too? Maybe Corsair have the answer to your prayers. Check it out our latest memory review..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195437657s.jpg

Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

18-05-2009, 08:01:05

AntiHeroUK
That is some mightily impressive memory there. You get what you pay for in this case, even if it is a small fortune..super sexy too

18-05-2009, 08:06:00

Mul.
Blimey, that Dominator GT kit really goes like stink! I'm surprised about how much the added bandwith and tighter timings affected framerates. Questionable value for money but if one really wants the best, this memory kit seems to be quite a candidate. Excellent review w3bbo

18-05-2009, 08:29:34

TopSecret
Nice review. I am thinking about swapping out my memory on my current rig, but I think this kit is a bit too much for my pocket. Here's hoping the price drops quick

18-05-2009, 08:38:25

Ging3r
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*

18-05-2009, 10:30:29

BloomerzUK
Won't these go in your rig well Jim

Nice review Webbo.

18-05-2009, 10:46:53

limpkorn
That kit is very nice. I'm hoping both the 1866 and 2000mhz kits drop in price a bit so I can change out my modules I think I'm being hinder currently on my overclock by my current set.

18-05-2009, 11:32:17

Pyr0
very nice

i'd like to try some memory based on the elpida hyper chips, but they're a bit out of my price range at the moment

18-05-2009, 12:35:52

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Won't these go in your rig well Jim
I think they already are...

He mentioned Dominator GT in his build.

18-05-2009, 13:11:38

w3bbo
Cheers for the kind comments guys. The Dominator GT's really are a grand bit of kit, sadly Jim has his beady eyes on these. However, I have a potentially faster kit on review atm.

21-05-2009, 14:14:32

cl0ck_ed
I don't understand why the 1600 is faster than 1866 in sup pi 1m??

Can anyone shed any light?

21-05-2009, 14:29:10

Mul.
Good question. Pi 1M is usually a pretty poor measure of how fast a setup is but that is a little odd.

21-05-2009, 15:21:14

w3bbo
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.

21-05-2009, 15:27:59

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.
Are you able to set the gt dominators at 1600 and the same timings to see if the results are still the same? The newer bios may be bloated and have a detrimental effect of sup pi scores.

21-05-2009, 19:35:31

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ging3r'
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*
this is perfect compliment to any mid-range x58...

how could we resist whistling...

The Dominator brand from Corsair just set the record for fastest ddr3 and as a 6gb kit

21-05-2009, 21:38:44

w3bbo
LOL I doubt very much you will be seeing this kit in a competition, that is unless Jimbo is feeling exceptionally generous.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.