Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

Introduction

Introduction
 
World leader in high-performance memory, Corsair are renown for manufacturing quality products. From basic memory modules to the high end Dominator class memory products, Corsair cater for every appetite. The pinnacle of their DDR3 line up, until most recently, fell to the Dominator range of memory.  They are the staple diet of overclockers everywhere and while in the past they may not have been leaders in the most aesthetically pleasing modules and while performing amongst the top of the class, never really broke free or set the pace for other brands to follow.  Corsair hope to change all this with the Dominator GT range.
 
The Dominator GT's are the logical evolution of the original Dominators that enthusiasts have come to know and love through there exceptional performance and solid reliability. Sporting next gen heat exchangers (DHX technology), the aesthetics of the Dominators have been improved most noticeably with the removable heat sink fins which have made the transition sleek understated black to 'in your face' racing Ferrari red. It's not just for looks alone though because Corsair claim the cooling is enhanced through this new design. Hopefully then, this new look Dominator GT kit will not just be a colourful re-hash of the same modules we reviewed here.
 
The kit we have for review today is the 1866MHz derivative (TR3X6G1866C7GTF) sporting stock latencies of CAS 7-8-7-20 and run at 1.65v. Corsair do however afford the more discerning buyer sets of hand screened 2000MHz kits should you feel that the already blistering stock speed of 1866MHz not enough. The 1866 kit we have for review also comes complete with the revised Dominator cooler sporting two 60mm fans instead of the whiny 3x 40mm ones we have seen previously. If air cooling is not your bag then you can purchase a separate Thermoelectric heat sink which Corsair claim cool the modules down to as much as 20c below ambient temperature! This however would also require the use of a water cooling setup to cool the TEC's down so today we will be using the revised Dominator GT fan cooler.
 
Here's what Corsair had to say about their latest product:
 
Very few components make it into the DOMINATOR family. Even fewer are hand selected to build the DOMINATOR-GT. Corsair’s team of engineers run extensive and exhaustive in-house testing and qualification with the premium performance motherboards used by overclockers and ultra enthusiasts.

This unique combination of over-clocking performance testing and guaranteed reliability and compatibility coupled with a limited lifetime warranty, make the DOMINATOR-GT - the cream of the crop, and... the ultimate solution for the ultra enthusiast and overclocker.
 
 
Specification
 
The following specification was taken directly from the Corsair Product page:
 
Each three module set is tested at 1866MHz
Packaged together immediately following system test
Tested together at 1866MHz, Vdimm = 1.65V at latency settings of 7-8-7-20 on X58-based motherboards.
SPD programmed at:
XMP 7-8-7-20 values at 1866MHz
JEDEC standard 9-9-9-24 values at 1333MHz.
1.65 Vdimm
6144 MB of DDR3
Includes Airflow fan for maximum thermal transfer
Lifetime warranty
 
As you can see, Corsair are making some big noises about each Dominator kit being hand tested before sending out. This is great news as you are assured a kit that works without any errors. However should you be unfortunate enough to receive a faulty kit, Corsairs class leading lifetime warranty affords peace of mind through their excellent RMA procedure.
 
Let's take a look at the new look Dominators shall we?
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-05-2009, 07:55:52

JN
"Hoping for a top of the line 6GB DDR3 kit that not only performs well but looks the business too? Maybe Corsair have the answer to your prayers. Check it out our latest memory review..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...195437657s.jpg

Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1866 6GB Kit

18-05-2009, 08:01:05

AntiHeroUK
That is some mightily impressive memory there. You get what you pay for in this case, even if it is a small fortune..super sexy too

18-05-2009, 08:06:00

Mul.
Blimey, that Dominator GT kit really goes like stink! I'm surprised about how much the added bandwith and tighter timings affected framerates. Questionable value for money but if one really wants the best, this memory kit seems to be quite a candidate. Excellent review w3bbo

18-05-2009, 08:29:34

TopSecret
Nice review. I am thinking about swapping out my memory on my current rig, but I think this kit is a bit too much for my pocket. Here's hoping the price drops quick

18-05-2009, 08:38:25

Ging3r
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*

18-05-2009, 10:30:29

BloomerzUK
Won't these go in your rig well Jim

Nice review Webbo.

18-05-2009, 10:46:53

limpkorn
That kit is very nice. I'm hoping both the 1866 and 2000mhz kits drop in price a bit so I can change out my modules I think I'm being hinder currently on my overclock by my current set.

18-05-2009, 11:32:17

Pyr0
very nice

i'd like to try some memory based on the elpida hyper chips, but they're a bit out of my price range at the moment

18-05-2009, 12:35:52

zak4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Won't these go in your rig well Jim
I think they already are...

He mentioned Dominator GT in his build.

18-05-2009, 13:11:38

w3bbo
Cheers for the kind comments guys. The Dominator GT's really are a grand bit of kit, sadly Jim has his beady eyes on these. However, I have a potentially faster kit on review atm.

21-05-2009, 14:14:32

cl0ck_ed
I don't understand why the 1600 is faster than 1866 in sup pi 1m??

Can anyone shed any light?

21-05-2009, 14:29:10

Mul.
Good question. Pi 1M is usually a pretty poor measure of how fast a setup is but that is a little odd.

21-05-2009, 15:21:14

w3bbo
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.

21-05-2009, 15:27:59

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
As above really, SuperPI 1m usually throws up unpredictable results and shouldn't really be included but it if I didn;t include it people would be asking where the 1m times are :S. The dominator was the first kit I tested back when i7 was first released so something dodgy might have been going on in the BIOS. Thankfully 32m shows a better more apt outcome.
Are you able to set the gt dominators at 1600 and the same timings to see if the results are still the same? The newer bios may be bloated and have a detrimental effect of sup pi scores.

21-05-2009, 19:35:31

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ging3r'
I think this would be a nice competition prize

*whistles*
this is perfect compliment to any mid-range x58...

how could we resist whistling...

The Dominator brand from Corsair just set the record for fastest ddr3 and as a 6gb kit

21-05-2009, 21:38:44

w3bbo
LOL I doubt very much you will be seeing this kit in a competition, that is unless Jimbo is feeling exceptionally generous.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.