Corsair Dominator GT 8GB PC3-12800 CL8 kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
When we were asked to sample Corsairs latest Dominator GT kit for the P55 chipset, the review team at OC3D were all clambering to get their grubby little mitts on them. Luckily for me, I got in there first and I must say I am happy I did. Not only does the kit look gorgeous, matching our test setup and indeed any similar motherboard with the same colour scheme but it also has the performance to match looks. Switching from the old Elpida chips to Micron was a stroke of genius as not only are the Micron chips more reliable but they also overclocking monsters.
 
The Dominator GT kit we had for review easily surpassed the 1900MHz mark and with a little more time and persuasion could have hit 2000MHz. Bandwidth though is not the be all and end all of overclocking memory and Corsair know this so keeping the kit at it's stock speed I am happy to report that if tight latencies are your bag, the Dominator GT kit is certainly worthy of consideration, hitting Cas 7-7-7 with relative ease and stability.
 
Perhaps the only downside to the kit is the large air cooler. While I certainly appreciated the reduction in noise, the increase in size might be an issue for some. On our test setup, the cooler blocked some airflow to the CPU cooler. While no reason not to buy the kit, it is something worthy of consideration, especially if you intend on using an oversized CPU HSF assembly. I did not manage any different overclocks with the cooler in-situ so I can only assume that the coolers main purpose in life is to extend the lifespan of the memory modules as they do run a little hot without the cooler attached, despite the sexy heatsinks.
 
All in all if you are looking for a larger than standard 4GB kit, the 8GB Corsair Dominator GT kit is certainly a kit that will suit your needs. High overclocking, aesthetically pleasing and backed up by Corsairs award winning support and warranty should make the buying decision all the easier.
 
The Good
- Blue tipped DHX Dominator Heatsinks
- Quiet memory cooler
- Very good overclocking ability
- Lifetime Warranty
 
The Mediocre
- Air cooler size may be an issue for some
- Basic packaging
 
The Bad
- Nothing
 
 
Thanks to Corsair for providing the Corsair Dominator GT kit for todays review. Discuss in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-10-2009, 04:40:08

tinytomlogan
W3bbo takes a look at the new Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory kit for P55 motherboards.

Continue Reading

30-10-2009, 05:16:54

I Hunta x
nice review webbo, makes me wish i had the money to upgrade to ddr3 now

tho tom shouldnt your above post be "Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory"??

30-10-2009, 06:19:48

tinytomlogan
It should, getting all confused, I saw pc3-16000 which is 2000mhz, my bad - was pre caffine

31-10-2009, 03:24:24

denis6902
been searching for 4GBx2 KITS today which was pretty lame, cause the only ones i found were from crucial.

Anyway, whats the point of these boards being 16GB capable if they barely exist?

btw ace review matey!!! Sexy memory! i want one! Well four!

31-10-2009, 06:00:04

w3bbo
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments

31-10-2009, 13:19:15

denis6902
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902

01-11-2009, 06:47:29

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='denis6902'
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902
I would stick with a dedicated CAD card tbh. The mainstream cards are targetted more toward gaming and not 3d work although no doubt they would also do the job fine. No idea which would be better at folding, I suspect the tesla but without testing one I couldn't say for sure. 8 cores go a long way .

01-11-2009, 08:25:48

tinytomlogan
It all depends on if the folding clients can actualy utilise the card tbh, I know they are working on one now for the new 5000 series cards but Im not sure if the Tesla cards are supported or not.

01-11-2009, 10:26:32

denis6902
thats what i thought too

by eye comparinson through the specs, one sh9d think that the tesla cards are folding mosters, but u are right tom, i have no idea how the clients support them.

I think they should make them to support. As it is a shame to have such a card not folding when idle.

Besides....prices on the tesla will drop a lot!

Thanks for the help mates!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.