Corsair Dominator GT 8GB PC3-12800 CL8 kit

Memory Benchmarks



SiSoftware Sandra
(the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Everest
 
Focusing mainly on software and hardware information reporting, Everest also comes with a benchmark utility suitable for testing the read, write and latency performance of the memory subsystem. Each of these benchmarks were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining 3.
  
 
 
 
 
Super PI
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
 
 
Results Observations
 
As expected, the Dominator kit could not really compete with the GSkill kit when both kits were clocked at their stock speeds. However, the Dominator kit did have the slight edge when pitched against the underclocked GSkill kit, albeit slight.
 
Let's move on to the 3D benchmarks...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-10-2009, 04:40:08

tinytomlogan
W3bbo takes a look at the new Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory kit for P55 motherboards.

Continue Reading

30-10-2009, 05:16:54

I Hunta x
nice review webbo, makes me wish i had the money to upgrade to ddr3 now

tho tom shouldnt your above post be "Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory"??

30-10-2009, 06:19:48

tinytomlogan
It should, getting all confused, I saw pc3-16000 which is 2000mhz, my bad - was pre caffine

31-10-2009, 03:24:24

denis6902
been searching for 4GBx2 KITS today which was pretty lame, cause the only ones i found were from crucial.

Anyway, whats the point of these boards being 16GB capable if they barely exist?

btw ace review matey!!! Sexy memory! i want one! Well four!

31-10-2009, 06:00:04

w3bbo
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments

31-10-2009, 13:19:15

denis6902
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902

01-11-2009, 06:47:29

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='denis6902'
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902
I would stick with a dedicated CAD card tbh. The mainstream cards are targetted more toward gaming and not 3d work although no doubt they would also do the job fine. No idea which would be better at folding, I suspect the tesla but without testing one I couldn't say for sure. 8 cores go a long way .

01-11-2009, 08:25:48

tinytomlogan
It all depends on if the folding clients can actualy utilise the card tbh, I know they are working on one now for the new 5000 series cards but Im not sure if the Tesla cards are supported or not.

01-11-2009, 10:26:32

denis6902
thats what i thought too

by eye comparinson through the specs, one sh9d think that the tesla cards are folding mosters, but u are right tom, i have no idea how the clients support them.

I think they should make them to support. As it is a shame to have such a card not folding when idle.

Besides....prices on the tesla will drop a lot!

Thanks for the help mates!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.