Corsair Dominator GT 8GB PC3-12800 CL8 kit

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging & Appearance
 
In typical Corsair fashion, the outer boxes are plain white with just a stick to identify the fan and modules. Taking the contents out of their respective boxes, we see that the modules are individually packed in blister style packaging while the fan assembly comes unassembled but swathed in bubble wrap for protection. While the fan assembly is not difficult to put together, especially for someone who is familiar with the design, a small instruction leaflet would not go amiss.
 
outer box kit
 
Following on from the successful DHX design of the previous Corsair Dominator modules we see the only difference between this kit and those previous is the distinctive electric blue heatsink with matching Dominator sticker. Flipping the module over the theme is the same only this time the sticker displays the modules full specification including bandwidth, latencies and correct voltage.
 
module front module back
 
Because the Dominator GT series are the cream of Corsair, they have seen fit to attach their DHX (Dual-Path Heat Exchange) cooling solution to the module. This works two fold in that this technology uses two methods of heat dissipation, convection and conduction by removing heat from the PCB and from the chips themselves. Traditionally, memory heatsinks are only attached to the memory modules via BGA (Ball Grid Array) but a study by Micron Semiconductor showed that up to 50% of the heat is actually conducted via the circuit board. With this in mind Corsair also attach the cooler to the circuit board itself to give the ultimate in memory cooling.
 
module top module side
 
The rear of the module displays the specification of the memory modules. 1600MHz is the rated speed of these modules which just so happens is the maximum the P55 chipset officially supports but as we all know, they will overclock much higher than this with compatible memory modules. We shall be putting this to the test with the Corsair kit later in the review. Latencies of 8-8-8-24 are pretty much standard for this speed and should afford a little headroom come overclocking time by lowering them a notch or two. 1.65v is the maximum vDIMM recommended by Intel and as such this is the voltage Corsair have set this kit to. While I would not normally recommend exceeding this voltage, in testing I have not encountered many problems upping this voltage a notch or two but keeping below the 1.7v level. Some memory chips scale better with added voltage while others remain stubborn, we shall see if the GT kit is the former or latter later in the review.
 
module perspective SPD
 
As this kit is labeled with Ver 3.1 I am happy to report that they do not come with the unreliable Elpida Hyper chips which have reportedly failed in the past. Micron chips are the ICs of choice at present which should afford a solid level of overclocking. Thanks to the removable top of the module, additional cooling methods can be used such as watercooling or indeed DICE, should Corsair finally release the promised adaptors needed for this extra cooling. If extreme cooling is not your bag, this kit comes with an air cooler that now has two larger 60m fans rather than the three 40mm fans used in previous designs. Hopefully this will cut down on the noise while still keeping (or indeed improving) airflow.
 
removal fan
 
Keeping to the tried and tested design is no big deal as the Dominator is a distinctive design that still sets itself apart from other manufacturers. Add a flash of colour, this time blue and the kits aesthetics are further enhanced. The tops of the ram are also removable so if you are a dab hand with a spray can or paint brush you can easily paint them to match the overall theme of your setup should you wish without the risk of damaging the modules themselves.
 
Let's move on to the test setup and overclocking section...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-10-2009, 04:40:08

tinytomlogan
W3bbo takes a look at the new Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory kit for P55 motherboards.

Continue Reading

30-10-2009, 05:16:54

I Hunta x
nice review webbo, makes me wish i had the money to upgrade to ddr3 now

tho tom shouldnt your above post be "Corsair 1600mhz 8gb memory"??

30-10-2009, 06:19:48

tinytomlogan
It should, getting all confused, I saw pc3-16000 which is 2000mhz, my bad - was pre caffine

31-10-2009, 03:24:24

denis6902
been searching for 4GBx2 KITS today which was pretty lame, cause the only ones i found were from crucial.

Anyway, whats the point of these boards being 16GB capable if they barely exist?

btw ace review matey!!! Sexy memory! i want one! Well four!

31-10-2009, 06:00:04

w3bbo
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments

31-10-2009, 13:19:15

denis6902
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='w3bbo'
Getting 4GB per stick is pretty expensive and as such most manufacturers stay clear of producing them. It's all about supply/demand. Our recent reviews have shown there is little gain to be had once you get over the 6GB mark unless you are very much infused by Photoshop and video editing/encoding.

Thanks for the comments
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902

01-11-2009, 06:47:29

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='denis6902'
I didnt know that. Good to know now! Thnks man!

Btw ...perhaps u would be able to answer a big doubt i am having.

I want to sell my s775 harware as well as my h2o bfg 260, i want to move on to s1156 so i can use a good i7 on either an Asus Extreme Formula III or an Asus Premium or Premium PRO, dunno yet. I mostly use the pc for designing like sketchup, autocad, solidworks and on.

My big doubt is, how does the Nvidia Tesla 2GB compares to an GTX 285 / 295???

What would be more appropriate? And also would the tesla fold more PPD then a 285?

If u can help me with that one, give me a help please!

cheers

denis6902
I would stick with a dedicated CAD card tbh. The mainstream cards are targetted more toward gaming and not 3d work although no doubt they would also do the job fine. No idea which would be better at folding, I suspect the tesla but without testing one I couldn't say for sure. 8 cores go a long way .

01-11-2009, 08:25:48

tinytomlogan
It all depends on if the folding clients can actualy utilise the card tbh, I know they are working on one now for the new 5000 series cards but Im not sure if the Tesla cards are supported or not.

01-11-2009, 10:26:32

denis6902
thats what i thought too

by eye comparinson through the specs, one sh9d think that the tesla cards are folding mosters, but u are right tom, i have no idea how the clients support them.

I think they should make them to support. As it is a shame to have such a card not folding when idle.

Besides....prices on the tesla will drop a lot!

Thanks for the help mates!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.