Corsair DDR3 CL8 1600MHz XMS3 Dominator 6GB Kit

Memory Benchmarks



SiSoftware Sandra
(the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.

 





Everest
 
Focusing mainly on software and hardware information reporting, Everest also comes with a benchmark utility suitable for testing the read, write and latency performance of the memory subsystem. Each of these benchmarks were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining 3.
 




 
 
 
Super PI
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 



 
 Results Observations
 
Predictably, the overclocked setup gave enhanced results and shows the extra amount of bandwidth available should you overclock the Corsair ram past it's stock settings. Let's see if  these overclocked settings have an affect on our run of 3D tests...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2008, 07:17:05

w3bbo
Looking to go i7? Unsure of what DDR3 to buy. Take a look at Corsairs Triple channel DDR3 1600mhz kit before you decide.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121513500s.jpg

Read the full review HERE

14-12-2008, 09:24:32

Molotov
Good review but the benchmarks seem a bit flawed as the CPU was overclocked as well.

14-12-2008, 10:22:25

w3bbo
Unfortunatley, simply using the memory dividers resulted in the memory being unstable (1866mhz). I could have lowered the CPU divider and adjusted the Bclk frequency but no configuration would have left the CPU frequency exact unless I forfeited some memory speed.

We now have some OCZ (same spec as the Corsair) which should give a better comparison, stock vs stock.

16-12-2008, 04:30:24

Blackbeard
Just FYI, the price in the review is a little high. You can also get the kit from Scan (pre-order atm) and CCL for ~228 inc VAT.

6GB Dominator at Scan = tinyurl.com/6jnwb4

6GB Dominator at CCL = tinyurl.com/5s4f83

20-12-2008, 09:54:14

w3bbo
Hi Blackbeard (What happened to Yellowbeard?).

We are now retail partners with Ebuyer so it would be inappropriate to advertise products for sale at a major competitor.

19-08-2009, 21:48:13

Pyr0
just got a newer revision of this kit (ver3.2) and they're much better than the ver2.1's, scaling well with voltage and lowered timings

i'm not going to try to say these are even remotely stable, but i managed 2000 8-8-8-24 with some extra voltage:

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=663557

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/9428/2000w.th.jpg

and 2000 9-9-9 with 1.66v, so there's prolly more in them.

http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/4870/200099924166.th.jpg

considering the ver2.1's i tried wouldn't even post much higher than 1650, these sticks act completely different in every respect.

19-08-2009, 22:06:09

tinytomlogan
Pyro you are turning into a bit of a bench fiend arnt you

19-08-2009, 22:17:50

Pyr0
hehe, just enjoying this new mem
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.