Cellshock PC3-14400 (DDR3-1800) 2GB DDR3 Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
Cellshock have never failed to impress us yet and their latest PC3-14400 DDR3 kit is certainly no different. Managing to hit eyebrow-raising speeds of DDR3-1964 on slightly relaxed timing of 8-8-8-25 with only 1.8v, and run out-of-the box at stock settings with only 1.7v (and no additional tweaking), the Cellshock kit is among the best that we've tested so far.
 
The build quality of the modules is also exceptional, with the same high quality heatspreaders and thermal paste seen on their earlier DDR2 kits making a reappearance. It would have been nice to see Cellshock mark the release of their DDR3 kits with a different heatspreader colour (like the red PC2-9200 kit), but that's just me being overly picky.
 
As we've come to expect from Cellshock, the pricing of the modules is also very competitive, with the PC3-14400 kit being available from our friends over at Aqua-PC's for around £260.
 
Aqua-Pc's Recommended Retailer
 
 
The Good
• Managed DDR3-1922 on stock timings and DDR3-1964 on slightly relaxed 8-8-8-25 timings.
• Worked perfectly out of the box with only 1.7v
• Cheaper than a lot of DDR3-1800+ kits on the market.
• High quality heatspreaders.
• Thermal paste used between memory and heatspreaders for maximum transfer of heat.
 
The Mediocre
• Didn't like voltages higher than 1.8-1.85v
• Benchmark results just a tad lower than the Patriot kit used for comparison.
 
The Bad
• Absolutely nothing!
 
 
Overclock3D Editors Choice Award
 
Thanks to Cellshock for providing the kit for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-02-2008, 08:52:23

JN
"Having been impessed with serveral of Cellshock's DDR2 based kits, it's finally time to put their latest DDR3 kit through its paces."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...111842734s.jpg

Cellshock PC3-14400 Review

16-02-2008, 09:12:34

Luigi
Nice review, aqua-pcs have got good pricing on these.. if only they were free...

17-02-2008, 11:32:59

clone38
I had that ram in my P5E3 Deluxe,never had any problems with it at all.

24-05-2010, 14:07:17

GrimReaper
Hi,

Nice review. I need some help with cellshock memory. I have a couple of sticks and now 1 of them died on me.

I tried emailing the company for support but no one seems to reply? Its been over a week now and still no reply from anyone.

These sticks arent exactly cheap.

While buying the memory the said it had 5 years warranty! My sticks arent that old.

Any help ? anyone??

24-05-2010, 14:14:17

tinytomlogan
They have gone bust dude I dont think they are able to take returns now.

24-05-2010, 14:26:05

GrimReaper
that Sucks! really sucks! I mean they made such awesome stuff.

but why I just dont understand?? They make us pay a premium for this and now they aren't around when things go bad? arrr!

350 Euros isn't exactly cheap!!!

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...674#post374674
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.