Cellshock PC3-14400 (DDR3-1800) 2GB DDR3 Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
 
 
Cellshock PC3-14400 2GB @
DDR3-1800 / 8-7-6-21 / 1.7v
Patriot  PC3-15000 2GB @
DDR3-1800 / 8-7-6-21 / 1.9v *
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
MotherboardAsus P5K3 Premium (Additional NB Cooling to reach high FSB)
Graphics Card  Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
Hard Disk Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
Graphics Drivers ATI Catalyst 7.4.44981
Motherboard Drivers Intel INF 8.300.1013
* The stock speed and timings of the Patriot kit has been adjusted to evenly match the Cellshock kit.
 
To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will each be run a total of 5 times, with the sigle highest and lowest result being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.

Synthetic Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Unreal Tournament 3
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Settings & Overclocking
 
As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the Cellshock DDR3 kit was subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies with stock timings, high frequencies with relaxed timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised speed, latency and voltage settings.
 
Stock Frequency & Timings
DDR3-1800 / 8-7-6-21 / 1.7v
CPU-Z - Stock CPU-Z _ Stock
 
Not only did the Cellshock PC3-14400 kit manage to run straight out of the box at its stock settings of DDR3-1800 / 8-7-6-21 without any additional tweaking, but amazingly it only required 1.7v. This is significantly less voltage than most other DDR3 kits we've tested recently, and will hopefully give the modules some extra headroom during overclocking.
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings
DDR3-1922 / 8-7-6-21 / 1.8v
CPU-Z - Stock Timings CPU-Z - Stock Timings
 
With the timings still set to their stock values, the maximum overclock obtainable on the kit was 961mhz (DDR3-1922). Interestingly the Cellshock kit did not respond to additional voltage as we'd anticipated, and the maximum voltage that we could use on the kit before experiencing stability issues was 1.8v.
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings
DDR3-1964 / 8-8-8-25 / 1.8v
CPU-Z - Relaxed Timings CPU-Z - Relaxed Timings
 
Relaxing the timings down to 8-8-8-25 saw the Cellshock kit hit a maximum speed of 982mhz (DDR3-1964). These results rank the Cellshock kit in the top two DDR3 kits we've tested on Overclock3D so far, and once again come within a whisker of DDR3-2000.
 
It is worth mentioning that obtaining this impressive overclock required the use of active cooling on the motherboards Northbridge chipset. Without this, the stock cooling on the P5K3 motherboard would have probably melted!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-02-2008, 08:52:23

JN
"Having been impessed with serveral of Cellshock's DDR2 based kits, it's finally time to put their latest DDR3 kit through its paces."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...111842734s.jpg

Cellshock PC3-14400 Review

16-02-2008, 09:12:34

Luigi
Nice review, aqua-pcs have got good pricing on these.. if only they were free...

17-02-2008, 11:32:59

clone38
I had that ram in my P5E3 Deluxe,never had any problems with it at all.

24-05-2010, 14:07:17

GrimReaper
Hi,

Nice review. I need some help with cellshock memory. I have a couple of sticks and now 1 of them died on me.

I tried emailing the company for support but no one seems to reply? Its been over a week now and still no reply from anyone.

These sticks arent exactly cheap.

While buying the memory the said it had 5 years warranty! My sticks arent that old.

Any help ? anyone??

24-05-2010, 14:14:17

tinytomlogan
They have gone bust dude I dont think they are able to take returns now.

24-05-2010, 14:26:05

GrimReaper
that Sucks! really sucks! I mean they made such awesome stuff.

but why I just dont understand?? They make us pay a premium for this and now they aren't around when things go bad? arrr!

350 Euros isn't exactly cheap!!!

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...674#post374674
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.