Cellshock PC3-14400 (DDR3-1800) 2GB DDR3 Kit

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction & Specifications
 
Back in May 2007 we got our very first taste of Cellshock in the form of their PC2-6400 DDR2 kit. With its high quality heatspreaders and huge overclocking potential, the modules were awarded our extremely rare "Best in Class" award and walked away with an outstanding 10/9/10 score! This certainly wasn't a "one-off" either, with Cellshock nabbing yet another Overclock3D award (this time "Editors Choice") just three months later, for their extremely sexy PC2-9200 kit.
 
Since then, Cellshock had had their sights firmly set on making waves in the DDR3 market and today we've been given the opportunity to review their latest PC3-14400 kit. However, before we get down to the nitty gritty of the review, let's get ourselves reacquainted with Cellshock the company:
 
About Us
Since 1979 MSC Vertriebs GmbH has made a name for itself as one of the leading high-tech distributors of electronic components in Europe....

Producing user memories in all variations and specifications for industry has always been one of MSC's core competencies. And now, with the new CellShock series, we are applying the knowledge gained to DRAM memory systems for PC fans. We use special techniques for chip selection and printed circuit boards with enhanced layouts including exhaustive quality testing. We also have contracts with a variety of reputable manufacturers of memory chips and electronic components that enable us to access a wide assortment of applications for optimising our products.

This calls for major product performance quality because the test programs we use were developed by overclockers for overclockers. We give that extra performance and compatibility - not because of some advertising slogans, but because we have a genuine passion for high-end PC components. We want to make a believer out of our customers not only with our products, but also fast service and expert technical support.

Nothing has realy changed since we last visited Cellshock with it's DDR2 based kits. They are still the same overclocker orientated company that they were 6 months back, and judging by the modesty of their about us page and understated looks of their website, they haven't let the success of their previous modules go to their heads.
 
So now we've got the formalities out of the way, it's time to check out the specifications of the kit we're going to be putting through its paces today:
 
Specifications
Capacity : 2GB-Kit (2x 1GB)
Configuration: 128Mx64
DRAM : Micron
Device Config : 128Mx8
PCB : 240pin
Module Info : unbuff. non-ECC, DDR3 DIMM
Speed : PC14400
CAS Latency: 8-7-6-21
VDIMM: 1,7 - 1,9V
Warranty: 5years
 
Cellshock PC3-14400 DDR3 Specs Cellshock PC3-14400 DDR3 Specs
 
The first thing that stands out in the specs of the modules is their rather "uneven" timings. While most kits we've tested recently go for something quite linear like 8-8-8-24 or 7-7-7-20, the Cellshock kit comes with stock timings of 8-7-6-21. This certainly isn't a bad thing as it shows that Cellshock have spent a lot of time tweaking the modules for optimal performance.
 
Another point of interest is the extremely low stock voltage. If the Cellshock kit does indeed manage to run at DDR3-1800 with 8-7-6-21 timings on only 1.7v, it will be be an ideal candidate for lower-end motherboards that have limited (or no) vdimm control options.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-02-2008, 08:52:23

JN
"Having been impessed with serveral of Cellshock's DDR2 based kits, it's finally time to put their latest DDR3 kit through its paces."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...111842734s.jpg

Cellshock PC3-14400 Review

16-02-2008, 09:12:34

Luigi
Nice review, aqua-pcs have got good pricing on these.. if only they were free...

17-02-2008, 11:32:59

clone38
I had that ram in my P5E3 Deluxe,never had any problems with it at all.

24-05-2010, 14:07:17

GrimReaper
Hi,

Nice review. I need some help with cellshock memory. I have a couple of sticks and now 1 of them died on me.

I tried emailing the company for support but no one seems to reply? Its been over a week now and still no reply from anyone.

These sticks arent exactly cheap.

While buying the memory the said it had 5 years warranty! My sticks arent that old.

Any help ? anyone??

24-05-2010, 14:14:17

tinytomlogan
They have gone bust dude I dont think they are able to take returns now.

24-05-2010, 14:26:05

GrimReaper
that Sucks! really sucks! I mean they made such awesome stuff.

but why I just dont understand?? They make us pay a premium for this and now they aren't around when things go bad? arrr!

350 Euros isn't exactly cheap!!!

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...674#post374674
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.