CellShock PC2-6400 (DDR2-800) 2GB Kit

Conclusion

Conclusion

Without doubt the CellShock DDR2-800 2GB kit is by far the most overclockable kit I've tested to date. Managing a pretty amazing ~50% overclock (196mhz) - taking the modules almost to DDR2-1200 status, I'm very confident that they would have easily been capable of a lot more with voltage upped to 2.3v.

Not only do they perform amazingly well, but they also look great too. Using high-quality aluminium heatsinks along with thermal paste (not pads) to cool the memory IC's, it's clear to see that CellShock have been listening to enthusiasts and have designed their modules with the overclocker in mind.

The Cellshock DDR2-800 kit does cost a little bit more than your average PC2-6400 kit on the market, but not to the point where it becomes uncompetitive. Available from SpecialTech for around £144.00, there are definitely cheaper kits about - But none that I've seen capable of hitting anywhere near DDR2-1200 or with the build quality found on these amazing modules.

SpecialTech


Pro's
• Great, uncomplicated looks.
• High quality heatspreaders.
• Thermal paste (not pads) used to transfer heat to heatspreaders.
• Capable of low latencies (3-3-4-10).
• HUGE ~50% overclock from DDR2-800 to DDR2-1192
• Competitive price for such a well built, overclockable kit!

Con's
• None (unless you are planning on using them past their 5yr warranty).


Best In Class Award


Thanks to Specialtech and CellShock for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-05-2007, 12:54:29

JN
"PC2-6400 DDR2 memory capable of hitting almost DDR2-1200, and at a reasonable price? That'll be the Cellshock! Read on to find out more..."

Link

22-05-2007, 13:01:42

ionicle
woah, some damn good memory

i wasnt expecting such a drastic overclock

....i think the likes of OCZ, corsair etc have some challange on there hands now

22-05-2007, 13:09:15

Ham
Good memory at a better price. Roll on their 4GB kits

22-05-2007, 13:44:40

Doddsy
Ah my beautiful memory, I love it!!

22-05-2007, 14:13:48

FarFarAway
Now that is some sweetness RAM

22-05-2007, 17:16:39

Pyr0
very nice stuff

even cheaper at memory config - special offer 104.63 inc vat till the 24th

http://www.memory-configurator.com/products/10624.html

22-05-2007, 17:32:32

Toxcity
Very very well written review, Nice read!

And does that look like good ram or what?

23-05-2007, 10:08:11

Mr. Smith
My dominators are dead so i need some interim ram, I found these for 100 so sounds like i'll order!

Nice review

04-06-2007, 19:18:36

KENNETH
Its even cheaper if you go here:

Overclockers.co.uk - 88 quid

Bargainous i say!

Saying that, i've just snaffled some of the 4-4-4-12 PC8000 Cellshock sticks off ebay for 87 quid, so the bargains are out there if you shop around

The PC8000's have micron D9GKX chips, which are apparently better than those on the 6400's, so should overclock even harder so i'm told

04-06-2007, 19:25:11

FarFarAway
Ye but if you buy from Overclockers then you get the worst service in the uk...do you want that?

I know I don't....

04-06-2007, 19:42:24

KENNETH
heh probably better service than i'll get by buying off ebay - well... maybe...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.