Aeneon Xtune PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333) 2GB Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
 
AenEon Xtune PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333) 2GB Kit
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
MotherboardAsus P5K3 Deluxe
Graphics Card  Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
Hard Disk Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
Graphics Drivers ATI Catalyst 7.4.44981
Motherboard Drivers Intel INF 8.300.1013
 
To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:

Synthetic Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
 
 
Settings & Overclocking
 
As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the Aeneon Xtune modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies with stock timings, high frequencies with loosened timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised speed, latency and voltage settings.
  
Stock Frequency & Timings
DDR3-1333 / 8-8-8-15 / 1.5v
Stock CPU-Z Stock CPU-Z
 
Being naturally sceptical of almost every product that passes through the Overclock3D labs, I was almost certain that I'd have problems getting the Xtune modules to run at their stock settings with only 1.5v. However, I'm pleased to say that Aeneon proved me totally wrong, with the kit managing to run OCCT stable for several hours at DDR3-1333 / 8-8-8-15 on our P5K testbed.
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings
DDR3-1524 / 8-8-8-15 / 1.85v
Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings - CPU-Z Highest Frequency @ Stock Timings - CPU-Z
 
While some DDR3 kits we've tested recently thrive on anything up to 2.0v, the Xtune modules seemed to hit their sweet spot at around 1.85v. This certainly didn't impede our overclocking experiences though, with the modules managing to hit DDR3-1524 on the stock 8-8-8-15 timings.
 
 
Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings
DDR3-1700 / 9-9-9-15 / 1.85v
Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings - CPU-Z Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings - CPU-Z
 
Relaxing the memory timings to 9-9-9-15 allowed for some staggering results, with the kit managing full OCCT stability at up to DDR3-1700. This is a full 184mhz (or DDR3-368) overclock from the stock speed of the modules, and puts the Aeneon kit in the number 1 spot with the highest percentage overclock of any DDR3 kit we've tested to date!
 
In addition to this, the kit also managed to complete 3DMark06 and all game benchmarks at up to DDR3-1732, but wasn't stable enough to complete 3DMark05 or any OCCT stress testing.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-02-2008, 16:38:56

JN
"A new kid in the DDR3 market shows us what it's made of."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...211328475s.jpg

Aeneon Xtune PC3-10600

27-02-2008, 16:52:14

FarFarAway
Great modules just pretty bad when it comes to availability which is a total shame

27-02-2008, 18:20:03

Azza
Do the manufac give any RRP themselves for them guys? They do indeed look pretty decent.

p.s. you guys have been hammering out the review as of late... great job fellas.

27-02-2008, 18:45:27

Bungral
Get them in quite a few places in the States lowest being about $300 all the way up to $450.. But nup.. UK couldn't find anything.

Nice review Jim.. Look like good sticks.. Real shame about the availability.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.