Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866 (PC3-15000) 4GB DDR3 Kit

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup

NVIDIA's 790i chipset-based motherboards are widely recognised by enthusiasts as being among the best when it comes to high frequency DDR3 overclocking. Providing both the ability to run memory modules in sync, on a divider or 'unlinked' from the main CPU bus speed, they are the ideal platform for testing out the EPP2.0 enabled Xtune kit on review today. This, combined with the rest of the hardware listed below, will ensure that no other part of the system acts as a bottleneck:

Processor
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHZ 2x4MB

Motherboard
ASUS Striker II Extreme 790i

Memory
Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866 4GB

Graphics Card
ASUS Radeon HD 4870x2

Graphics Drivers
ATI Catalyst 8.6.64789

Operating System
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 + Updates

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:

Synthetic Benchmarks
• Lavalys Everest 4.0
• SuperPI Mod 1.4

3D Benchmarks
• 3DMark03
• Enemy Territory: Quake Wars


Overclocking

While our natural-born instinct as overclockers was to jump right in and start pumping extra voltage through the Aeneon kit, there is one important issue that needs to be explored first: stability. Too often here at Overclock3D, we've received memory kits that simply don't work at their advertised speeds or voltages, leading to system crashes, corrupt OS installs and a lot of wasted time. Therefore, our first test was to see if the Xtune modules would work flawlessly straight out of the box...

DDR3-1866 / 10-10-10-30 / 1.5v
CPU-Z - Stock CPU-Z Stock
 
With a stock voltage of 1.5v and claims from Aeneon that "No Overvoltage Is Required", this immediately set alarm bells ringing. After all, most other high performance DDR3 kits we've tested recently have required at least 1.8v in order to function correctly. However, after inserting the modules, enabling EPP2.0 in the BIOS and setting the memory voltage to 1.5v, the  system booted first time at DDR3-1866 and effortlessly passed a full 30 minutes of OCCT stability testing along with a series of benchmarks. Amazing work Aeneon!

DDR3-1974 / 10-10-10-30 / 1.5v

CPU-Z - Overclocked / Stock Voltage CPU-Z - Overclocked / Stock Voltage

The next test was to see just how far we could overclock the modules without making any adjustments to the voltage. Already impressed by the kit's ability to run at DDR3-1866 with only 1.5v, we certainly weren't expecting to see much in the way of overclocking at such a low voltage level. Boy were we wrong...

After disabling EPP2.0, which had us locked at DDR3-1866, and dropping the CPU multiplier to 8x so that we could push the FSB higher without putting too much strain on our CPU, the maximum memory speed we managed to reach with 100% stability was DDR3-1974. Interestingly, the modules also booted and were 'desktop stable' all the way up to DDR3-2000, but no amount of voltage could stabilise this enough for a 3DMark run. However, a little extra voltage did help to get this result...
 
DDR3-1994 / 10-10-10-30 / 1.56v
CPU-Z
CPU-Z

So close! Only 6mhz shy of DDR3-2000 at 1.56v. Unfortunately, the Xtune kit didn't scale any better with the voltage set beyond this, which is a shame because it could have easily had Micron's famous D9-based modules on their hands and knees begging for mercy. But with all said and done, going from 1866MHz to 1994MHz with only 0.6v is a damn good result.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-10-2008, 07:59:36

JN
"Low voltage and high performance is the name of the game with Aeneon's latest Xtune DDR3 kit."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105055428s.jpg

Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866 (PC3-15000) 4GB DDR3 Kit

20-10-2008, 08:57:43

Rastalovich
Decent memory, not had any of that b4.

I`d kinda liken buying a 2x kit to put in a 3x array `as` equiv to putting a single stick in a 2x array.

So.. with the emphasis of working 1.5v+ for an i7 setup, why sell it as a 2x ? Of course u can buy another stick.. but with all the unquantified differences, ur timings will require the massaging. And not being a kit, performance or compatability not guaranteed.

It`s always greater to have less voltage to work ur ddr3 in a 4 series mobo, as I`m almost sure all the "good" ones have a tremendous range of vdimm. So on the one hand u cut the voltage req to allow i7, and sell as a pair for non i7.

Could well be ofc, that moving forward, it`s just the case that all newer ddr3 they, and others, produce will be ~1.5v as standard.

Nice review, nice sticks.

20-10-2008, 09:23:26

FarFarAway
Nice review as per usual Jimbo. Any idea at all on pricing? I really wouldn't mind cutting over to DDR3 right now if it's not too dear.

20-10-2008, 12:41:30

usman.zx10
Kempez you are right the DDR3 prices are falling and are now justifible to upgrade to and their timings are getting tighter also. Soon I might make the jump, we will see.

20-10-2008, 12:42:08

usman.zx10
but the timings on this particular kit reviewed are lackluster at best. 10-10-10.. meh, ill pass
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.