XTracPads Ripper XL v2 Mouse Mat

Conclusion

Conclusion

So how do we sum upXTrac Pads Ripper XL mouse mate? Well it's certainly large enough for those who crave extra real-estate and it certainly provides a fast surface to game on. For such a cheap mouse mat it's a no-brainer decision.

To be honest there's not a lot of negatives about the Ripper XL. Admittedly there is the issue that I alluded to earlier in the review with regard to premature fraying/lifting on the end of the mat itself. Plus the fact that the the Razer Mantis feels like it's going to last longer. But for a mere US$13.95 from Sidewinder you really cant go wrong, especially when you're almost paying twice that amount for a mouse mat like my Razer Mantis.

Budget conscious gamers will do well to look at the Ripper XL.

For those looking to find the Ripper XL, XTrac Pads have a list of resellers available here

Pro's

+ Exceptional value
+ Provides larger gaming surface than other mouse mats on the market
+ Provides fast and accurate tracking
+ Easy to clean surface
+ Non-slip rubber backing
+ Simple and unimposing looks

Con's

-
Feels a little cheap
- Attracts dust and lint like crazy
- Review sample edges frayed/lifted too easily
- Slight problem with tracking at speed.

Value For $$ Award Recommended Award

Thanks to XTrac Pads for providing the Ripper XL for review

Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-08-2007, 20:06:35

PV5150
Is size everything, or is it the way you use it? We check out XTrac Pads latest mouse mat - The Ripper XL, and answer this age-old question.

Link

12-08-2007, 04:32:20

!TIMMY!
Nice review! I always think its hard to review a mouse mat as it really is down to personal opinion.

the XTrac does look like my Everglide Titan.

12-08-2007, 04:59:18

PV5150
Thanks !TIMMY!, and I agree. It's definitely hard to review something like a mouse mat that can have many variables to many people. You'll never please everyone

12-08-2007, 08:22:11

llwyd
I'm looking for a new mousemat thats not too pricey. How fast would you say tracking becomes a problem? I sometimes move my mouse pretty fast in Source

12-08-2007, 08:23:40

Azreil_2
llwyd keep me informed on what mousemat u get :P im looking to get one for new deathadder :P (well when i get that 2 lol)

12-08-2007, 08:41:51

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Llwyd'
I'm looking for a new mousemat thats not too pricey. How fast would you say tracking becomes a problem? I sometimes move my mouse pretty fast in Source
Pretty fast mate. I did the same test as [Ins] and it was virtually as fast as I could from side to side and up and down (motion) on high sensitivity. After toning the sensitivity down a notch on my mouse the phenomena went away.

If you are looking for a good, budget mouse mat then you really can't go wrong with the XTrac imo.

12-08-2007, 08:52:10

llwyd
aah right, so it was just down to the DPI? thats ok, i'll be using 800 dpi with my G7 on it i think. Now just to wait till its back in stock

12-08-2007, 08:52:46

PV5150
800 dpi will be fine mate
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.