Wolfking Warrior XXtreme Gaming Keyboard

Conclusion

Conclusion

I think that the left disc serves its purpose as a gaming pad brilliantly. It makes using a WASD system a lot easier, and puts extra functionality at a gamers fingertips. The right disc however does not serve its purpose well, which makes summarising the Warrior XXtreme rather difficult.

Due to the advantages during gaming, I would probably recommend buying this keyboard, and keeping your other keyboard for typing, however This Product prevents me from doing that.

Wolfking also make a  “Warrior Keypad”, which is basically just the left disc on its own, without the added set of keys on the right.  I would definitely recommend this product to any serious gamer, however it makes it rather difficult to recommend purchasing the Warrior XXtreme.
 
With the Warrior XXtreme pricing in at £49.98 and the Warrior at £19.98 (both from After Hours), I know which I would buy.

In conclusion, Wolfking have made a fantastic product, but unfortunately tried to expand on it, and I don't think the final product can be called a success when it is possible to purchase the successful half of the Warrior XXtreme for less than half the price.
 
The Pros
 
+ Gaming side is fantastic
+ Keyboard looks smart
 
The Cons
 
- Typing side doesn't fulfill its purpose
- No media or macro keys
- Better product is availalable for cheaper
 
Thanks to After Hours for the review sample
 
 
  
Discuss this review in the OC3D Forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-07-2008, 09:27:21

PV5150
Can abstract design in gaming keyboards really aid gamers? Dave Stevens gives his take on whether the Wolfking Warrior XXtreme Gaming Keyboard really has the goods.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122844268s.jpg

Review here

18-07-2008, 15:51:55

wigseryc
I'd hate to have to type a 5000 word essay with that thing :\

19-07-2008, 04:48:42

daniel-kun
Ugliest. Keybord. Ever.

19-07-2008, 07:27:52

Raging
first 2 pics are the same mate

31-07-2008, 09:37:23

Lynx
Do people actually buy these things??



I mean fair enough if you are an FPS addict and neve leave the game rofl, but say u need to chat how annoying, and why would this make this easier to play games? its just a gimmick tbh.

stick with good NORMAL ones

31-07-2008, 09:51:21

ionicle
if you have two pc's, one for gaming, one for msn, internet, everything else, this would be good for the former, maybe, once your used to it..

31-07-2008, 14:02:53

Pseudonym
Aye, or have a typing keyboard and a gaming keyboard and just plug it in as/when you need it. (Just got to the end and saw the mini version. I was going to say they could do with one, but obviously, now i don't have to.)

You'd have to have a decent mic though, because no way would i be typing messages out on that thing when gaming.

As the typing part is built for one handed typing, it might be a good idea to put a variation of one handed dvorak on it.

01-08-2008, 05:56:58

Rastalovich
U can plug loads of keyboards in at the same time Similarly with mice.

01-08-2008, 08:25:33

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
U can plug loads of keyboards in at the same time Similarly with mice.
Mice can interfere with each other a bit though sometimes as happened to me
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.