SteelSeries SX Mouse Mat

Test Setup & Results

Test Setup

I decided to put the SX up against a series of mice over a number of different scenarios. These were:

• The use of a Razer DeathAdder, Razer Copperhead and Microsoft Habu.
• All mice were tested with the SX in Counter-Strike Source to see how they performed.
• The mice and SX mat were used in a desktop test within Windows Vista.


Results

First off, I tested the SX in Counter-Strike Source with the Razer DeathAdder to see how it performed with both slow and fast movements. My initial impressions were that the surface was extremely quick to react to movements and extremely smooth! It almost felt as if the mouse was floating over a highly polished surface.

I did however find one small problem with the tracking on my mouse. When moving the mouse extremely quickly (and I’m talking as quick as I could move it), the cursor / crosshairs, just danced randomly all over the screen. It was almost as if the mouse could not track quickly enough, something that I’d not experienced before with my DeathAdder and eXactMat combination. However, when moving the mouse at normal speeds, the performance was exceptional.

I performed the same test within Counter-Strike Source with both the Copperhead and Habu much to the same effect. The SX is undoubtedly the smoothest and quickest surface that I’ve used, but right up at the higher end speeds when you are aiming to turn as quickly as possible, there were occasions when the tracking became a bit wayward. One final point I picked up on “in-game” was that even though the pad is extremely smooth, I found it a little too quick. I must stress though that this is my own personal opinion and many (if not most) gamers will revel in how quick and smooth this pad is! As a result, I lowered my sensitivity to compensate for this which seemed to do the trick.

When testing in Windows, the pad was a joy to use. Very smooth, extremely quiet (for an aluminium surface) and absolutely no complaints. Out of curiosity, I moved the mouse very quickly in Windows again to see if the cursor jumped about erratically and it did. Again, I must stress that this only occurred when moving the mouse as quick as I possibly could, so would put it down to the mouse rather than the pad. The SX is probably just too good for current mice to track against.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.