SteelSeries SX Mouse Mat

The SteelSeries SX

The SteelSeries SX

The first thing that strikes you when you touch the SX is just how smooth the surface is. Now I’ve had my fair share of gaming surfaces (Razer eXactmat, Func 1080, IceMat, etc), but this is by far the smoothest surface I have every felt and it is deeply impressive! In fact, it is so smooth that if you were to put your hand against it and lean you body weight into it, you would quickly fall flat on your face with your hand slipping off.

SteelSeries SX In Action

The surface itself is fibre polished and anodised aluminium which offers up minimum friction between the mouse and the mouse mat. Of course this is of great benefit to the gamer as it allows for much more accuracy and split-second movements that other mouse mats just could not replicate. Additionally, being high quality aluminium, it is extremely durable so performance of this surface will not decrease with use over time.

I would not describe the SX as an oversized pad, but more of a practical medium sized mat. Comparing it to my current pad (Razer’s eXactMat), they are different in shape as you’ll see below, however almost identical in size. Being a low sensitivity gamer, I cannot say that I’ve ever had a problem with the eXactMat being “too small”, so I’d expect to have no such problems either with the SX.

SteelSeries SX Compare

Upon measuring the pad, the dimensions were 320mm by 270mm with a height of 2mm. I personally feel this is a very practical size and suits both low and high sensitivity gamers. One of the most important aspects of a gaming pad is to ensure that it does not sit too high and at 2mm, the SX is perfect.

SteelSeries SX Thickness

Around the back of the pad, SteelSeries have designed a very effective and “grippy” rubber surface. This ensures that the pad will not slip or slide, which is the last thing a gamer needs in the middle of a heated gun fight.

SteelSeries SX Back Full SteelSeries SX Rubber Back

Overall my initial impressions of the SX are certainly positive. SteelSeries have obviously thought out not only the most practical size for gamers but additionally they have produced the smoothest surface I have yet to see produced on a mouse mat. In addition, SteelSeries marketing points out that this pad is compatible with both “gaming grade laser and optical mice” which ensures that it will appeal to all gamers. So what’s it like to use? Read on to find out..
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.