SteelSeries SX Mouse Mat

Packaging & Contents

Packaging

When my SX review sample arrived, it was pleasing to see that the product was sufficiently protected. The pad itself was surrounded by a strong plastic case which is in turn inserted into a cardboard wrapper. As you’ll see below, this wrapper displays a clear message that this is a “pro-gaming” mouse mat. The design on the front of the wrapper was clear and caught the eye quickly. It’s so pleasing to see a company actually keeping things simple without bombarding us with endorsements from gamers, quotes from reviews or technical details all over the front cover. This design I felt was extremely effective because it has been kept simple.

SteelSeries SX Packaging Front SteelSeries SX Packaging Back

Around the back of the packaging everything is again kept neat and tidy. There is a brief description of the product in a number of languages, a small overview of who SteelSeries are and a number of logos from affiliated gaming teams. The good news here is that these teams are all very well know in the Counter Strike 1.6 & Source scenes, which will undoubtedly create awareness of the SX in the gaming community.


Contents

The following items are included in the box:

SteelSeries SX Contents

• SteelSeries SX Mouse Mat
• SteelSeries Glide MS pads
• Marketing pamphlets
• An anti static cleaning cloth
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.