SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review

Ergonomics

SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review

Hey There Mr Fancy-Pants

So that split in the spacebar. What's that about? Well a quick flick of a release latch on the right hand end and the entire keyset will be freed to fold up like an accordion. Obviously if you split your keyboard into thirds you'll have a break in your spacebar. The only other alternative would be to just fold it in half but then it would be prohibitively large.

SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review     SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review  

With the current keyset folded out of the way the underneath is revealed to us in all its glory. The first thing that comes to mind is how useful this is to keep everything clean. I'm sure I'm not the only one who's dropped something between the keys and fought with a paperclip to remove it.

On the top right hand corner is the connector that recognises new keysets when they are inserted so that the SteelSeries Engine software can assign everything properly. A great bit of design here ensures that even the most ham-fisted person shouldn't have an issue in the long-term as there is nothing to get bent.

SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review     SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review  

Finally back to the world of a fairly standard keyboard there is a large wrist rest supplied which attaches to the front with a couple of push on tabs. On the rear we have two USB ports and a headphone/microphone combo which enhances the usability of the Shift in LAN settings.

SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review     SteelSeries Shift Keyboard and Keyset Review

SteelSeries supplied a StarCraft II Keyset with the Shift, so let's grab a look at what we have there.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-04-2011, 02:15:32

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the Shift keyboard from SteelSeries along with an example keyset.



Continue Reading

07-04-2011, 03:18:15

Game Over
I enjoyed that, that is a cool design. Im sure they will have to Battlefield 3 keyset in stores any day.

07-04-2011, 05:15:47

CueBall
Well I am glad to see we both have the same issue`s with the keyboard.

I have the keyboard myself here laying around for a review but it just doesnt work right.

After a reinstall of windows you need to download software and it automatically starting flashing.

It ends up in a bad flash in the end and keyboard is useless.

This happens every time you reinstall windows.

Service support is great and helped me out several times within a couple of days.

However since a keyboard should work straight out of the box without the need of a new flash and numerous mistypes as you said I am not impressed by the keyboard at all.

The other keyboard, the merc which I have laying around for a review aswell is briljant.

Cant see or find any flaw and works as a keyboard should.

The extra keys on the left side are briljant and any shooter guy should have such a keyboard.

07-04-2011, 06:13:25

SieB
I won a Steelseries Shift last year and tbh I didn't like it. If you are a hardcore gamer it has it's advantages but for everyday use it's not that good and the only thing I miss from it are the media keys.

07-04-2011, 12:28:08

Koryusai-Kun
I have one of these there awesome Nice review btw.

08-04-2011, 04:04:28

Game Over
Im looking at getting a new keyboard as well, I do not need a bunch of fancy crap, I prefer something totaly silent, I can not stand the click clack click clack of a keyboard, Silent but still with the feel of a click. I like that positive tactile feedback.

08-04-2011, 10:56:48

Glax
Game Over- Try the Razer Lycosa. I've had raze products or 2+ years and they are tip top in terms of quality. My sister bought me a Lycosa for my birthday. All I can say about this keyboard is wow. The keys are slim but responsive. Every key is back-lit (great for me, the lack of a back-lit keyboard is what has prevented me from gaming in total darkness. No extraneous keys that inhibit performance, with 100% macro capability. A USB and Headphone/Mic jack on the top of the keyboard is nice too. I've used the logitech and can say without a shadow of a doubt this is the keyboard for me. But do a little looking there are quite a few models that might meet your criteria in a keyboard. But do look up Razer, they've got some fantastic stuff.

-Gentlemen

TTL- Thanks for another review brother man!

08-04-2011, 12:32:21

INMATE183
this looks fantastic a brill idea
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.