SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review

Software

SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review

Software

Now the Sensei doesn't actually require drivers, thanks to that onboard processor and some handy trickery, but to get the best out of it you'll want to grab the SteelSeries Engine software which opens up a world of possibility. It comes with 8 profiles by default, but other ones are easily created. Especially noteworthy is that all the buttons, except the CPI adjustment one, are configurable. So you can easily swap left and right buttons if the mood takes you. Or have the left one perform some complex macro.

Profile management is probably the most elegant solution we've found. Once you've created your meisterwerk you just drag it from the left pane to the mouse and Robert is your mothers brother. If you take your rodent elsewhere on another system, just drag the profile off the Sensei into the left pane and it's all ready for tweaking. Seamless.

SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review     SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review  

There is loads to cover in the settings page, so get comfy. The ExactSens is setting the two CPI profiles that are handled by the CPI switch just behind the scroll wheel. All of the sensitivity is handled "on mouse" so you have zero software lag and therefore your results are exact. Once you hit 5700 CPI, a speedy pointer in anyone's book, you move into the stratospheric levels enabled by the onboard ARM processor, until you hit the giddy heights of 11400 CPI. At those levels you could probably breathe the mouse pointer around.

Below that we have the various lighting options. All fairly obvious, although it's nice that you can choose from any colour you like, rather than a set few. The CPI1 and CPI2 LED colours indicate which of the two CPI modes set above you're currently in. Probably wise to make them disparate. Further down are the adjustments for the LCD screen on the underside. Any bitmap is representable, although obviously if the initial image is 1bit then the LCD will more accurately reproduce it.

On the right hand side are the other tricks in the Sensei's armoury. FreeMove is a version of something which we all detest, mouse smoothing. However, and it's a big however, thanks to the powerful processor it actually works very well. Sure it's taking a level of control away from you, but you can always turn it off. When it's on it makes drawing a straight line much easier, which is not only helpful in art, but in keeping your LMG at head height as you lay down suppressing fire. ExactAccel is a scalable speed up, so if you're desperate to get from one side of a triple-screen monitor to the other in a hurry, this will do the job. ExactAim is more useful because as you slow down, it lowers the sensitivity of the Sensei so you really can shoot the wings off a fly. Or the eyes out of your enemy. Finally ExactLift controls the lift distance so you can fine tune the Sensei to your surface of choice, and the polling rate is something everyone will leave at 1000Hz. But it's nice to have the option.

SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review     SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review  

One fairly strange feature is a statistics option where you can start and then go off to play and the Engine will keep track of how often you've pressed each button. Not immediately useful but if you set two different buttons up for the same job and then see which you hit more often in the heat of battle it could make maximising your profile that bit easier.

Yet another in this plethora of useful features is the ability to change profiles without having the Engine software running. Because everything is handled by the ARM processor onboard you just hold down the CPI change button for a couple of seconds and then either use the scroll wheel or side buttons to switch profiles. If you've forgotten to assign different colour schemes to each, or forgotten what they are, then the LCD display handily lists them so you know which one you're using.

SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review     SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review  

Phew. Time to have a look at some pretty colours and wrap up our thoughts from testing.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2011, 07:18:22

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at very latest gaming mouse from SteelSeries, the Sensei. Defeat does not exist in this Dojo, does it?



Continue Reading

30-09-2011, 07:29:43

dugdiamond
omg - that is some serious polling - looks nice too

30-09-2011, 07:34:31

yassarikhan786
It looks and performs amazingly . 90 is OK considering the amount of features you get.

30-09-2011, 07:47:26

SieB
I was looking at this earlier and wondering if it would be a worthy replacement for my Steelseries Xai, looks like I have my answer

30-09-2011, 09:41:02

equk
Looks like a nice mouse

Don't see the reason for a LCD on the bottom of it but the features and the software look pretty nice.

Be nice if they did a cheaper version without the LCD screen.

Having the option to change the LED colours is a bit of a useless thing also but I guess some people buy hardware for what it looks like more than how it functions.

I was looking at the Xai a while ago as I used to use a Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 and the shape seems so much similar.

I ended up getting another Razer Deathadder tho.

30-09-2011, 09:42:43

dipzy
I have got the steelseries kinzu mouse that i bought from dabs gadget show even at wembley stadium a few years back, its a awesome mouse. The Sensei would be the ideal replacement for it

30-09-2011, 10:57:54

Zeals
I want one just to try out the 11,400DPI/CPI Setting, perhaps the first mouse that is too sensitive for me to control. At the cost of $115 AUD makes it one of the cheaper high end mice.

30-09-2011, 11:55:09

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]This is one of the best mice that I have seen for some time, really like the colours

01-10-2011, 15:00:39

Ravious
I want one

01-10-2011, 15:06:31

| raVen |
Not too bad looking mouse, but I don't like the design

01-10-2011, 15:09:14

V1Viper
Nice review, mite add this to my new build list for next year

01-10-2011, 17:00:56

Solidarity
I'm not really sure what I think of this

01-10-2011, 17:15:14

piotrekhc
90quid are they crazy ? lol dosent mater what this mouse can do and how many frykin settings u have, for 90 quid ull expect it to babysit and make tea lolz

02-10-2011, 06:12:15

Zeals
Does this mouse use the same Avago 9500 laser sensor as the Xai or is it an entirely new sensor?

04-10-2011, 03:15:09

CocaCola
Would this beat the Ikari laser in performance? The Sensei is definitely very ergonomic as it allows both left or right hand use. This looks like the ultimate upgrade of the Kinzu and the Xai.

05-10-2011, 21:28:42

SScout
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocaCola View Post

Would this beat the Ikari laser in performance? The Sensei is definitely very ergonomic as it allows both left or right hand use. This looks like the ultimate upgrade of the Kinzu and the Xai.
I've come directly from the Ikari to this, and i have to say it competes in every way. I was worried about not liking the shape as the Ikari fits your hard really snugly; but i have to say that i have had no issues so far! The only minor qualm i have is that whenever i startup my computer the profile reverts to the default.

05-10-2011, 22:29:36

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by SScout View Post

I've come directly from the Ikari to this, and i have to say it competes in every way. I was worried about not liking the shape as the Ikari fits your hard really snugly; but i have to say that i have had no issues so far! The only minor qualm i have is that whenever i startup my computer the profile reverts to the default.
Hey, that's cool. How do you like the 2 extra buttons on the ring and pinky finger side? They shouldn't be a problem if you don't program them for the specific game right?

Maybe you should make a copy of the default profile, save it to another safe storage and then overlap the existing default profile with your own profile? I haven't had a problem like that before. I have both the Kinzu and the Ikari. I really enjoy using the Ikari even for regular use and not gaming. My Ikari's scroll wheel is making high pitched squeeking sounds. Not sure why though. My Kinzu is having a problem of constantly double clicking when I single click. No idea why this is happening to my mice. I haven't had them for long either.

11-10-2011, 14:44:04

Philib
Im thinking of buying it. What's the warranty like. Looking around it seems like its only 1 year.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.