SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

SteelSeries Sensei Gaming Mouse Review

Introduction

Gaming mice have certainly come a long way from the early days.

Back when mice were mainly used for pointing and the thought of having a dedicated one for gaming was merely a dream of Thresh, the way that manufacturers differentiated their gaming mice from the regular sort was to make them optical, black and add a click-able scroll wheel. Time rapidly moved on and optical mice were overtaken by laser mice, but still the "all black with loads of buttons" ethos continued. Indeed some mice are so bloated with buttons that it's become tough to find a way to hold them that doesn't lead to pressing 6 different ones at once.

Thankfully companies have realised that what we really care about is having an epic sensor, perhaps a couple of extra buttons and comfort. Ergonomics often lead to mice being the curved shape that best suits right-handed people, which has meant that southpaws, and those of us who don't want a banana on a cord, have had a very short list to choose from for our new mouse.

Enter the SteelSeries Sensei. An ambidextrous sleek affair that concentrates mainly on customisation and comfort, whilst following the modern minimalist design school that is so popular.

Technical Specifications

A large proportion of the technical stuff will be covered in the next few pages, but here are the facts :

  • Weight: 102 grams (0.22 lbs)
  • Height: 38.7 mm (1.5 in)
  • Width: 68.3 mm (2.7 in)
  • Length: 125.5 mm (4.9 in)
  • Buttons : 8 (7 customisable)
  • Sensor : 1-11,400 CPI, 12000 FPS max, 150 inches per second
    Processor : 32 bit ARM. 75 MHz P1 equivalent

That's not everything as it has a swathe of technologies and lighting possibilities too, but that's getting ahead of ourselves. Let's take a look at it all shall we.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2011, 07:18:22

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at very latest gaming mouse from SteelSeries, the Sensei. Defeat does not exist in this Dojo, does it?



Continue Reading

30-09-2011, 07:29:43

dugdiamond
omg - that is some serious polling - looks nice too

30-09-2011, 07:34:31

yassarikhan786
It looks and performs amazingly . 90 is OK considering the amount of features you get.

30-09-2011, 07:47:26

SieB
I was looking at this earlier and wondering if it would be a worthy replacement for my Steelseries Xai, looks like I have my answer

30-09-2011, 09:41:02

equk
Looks like a nice mouse

Don't see the reason for a LCD on the bottom of it but the features and the software look pretty nice.

Be nice if they did a cheaper version without the LCD screen.

Having the option to change the LED colours is a bit of a useless thing also but I guess some people buy hardware for what it looks like more than how it functions.

I was looking at the Xai a while ago as I used to use a Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 and the shape seems so much similar.

I ended up getting another Razer Deathadder tho.

30-09-2011, 09:42:43

dipzy
I have got the steelseries kinzu mouse that i bought from dabs gadget show even at wembley stadium a few years back, its a awesome mouse. The Sensei would be the ideal replacement for it

30-09-2011, 10:57:54

Zeals
I want one just to try out the 11,400DPI/CPI Setting, perhaps the first mouse that is too sensitive for me to control. At the cost of $115 AUD makes it one of the cheaper high end mice.

30-09-2011, 11:55:09

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]This is one of the best mice that I have seen for some time, really like the colours

01-10-2011, 15:00:39

Ravious
I want one

01-10-2011, 15:06:31

| raVen |
Not too bad looking mouse, but I don't like the design

01-10-2011, 15:09:14

V1Viper
Nice review, mite add this to my new build list for next year

01-10-2011, 17:00:56

Solidarity
I'm not really sure what I think of this

01-10-2011, 17:15:14

piotrekhc
90quid are they crazy ? lol dosent mater what this mouse can do and how many frykin settings u have, for 90 quid ull expect it to babysit and make tea lolz

02-10-2011, 06:12:15

Zeals
Does this mouse use the same Avago 9500 laser sensor as the Xai or is it an entirely new sensor?

04-10-2011, 03:15:09

CocaCola
Would this beat the Ikari laser in performance? The Sensei is definitely very ergonomic as it allows both left or right hand use. This looks like the ultimate upgrade of the Kinzu and the Xai.

05-10-2011, 21:28:42

SScout
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocaCola View Post

Would this beat the Ikari laser in performance? The Sensei is definitely very ergonomic as it allows both left or right hand use. This looks like the ultimate upgrade of the Kinzu and the Xai.
I've come directly from the Ikari to this, and i have to say it competes in every way. I was worried about not liking the shape as the Ikari fits your hard really snugly; but i have to say that i have had no issues so far! The only minor qualm i have is that whenever i startup my computer the profile reverts to the default.

05-10-2011, 22:29:36

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by SScout View Post

I've come directly from the Ikari to this, and i have to say it competes in every way. I was worried about not liking the shape as the Ikari fits your hard really snugly; but i have to say that i have had no issues so far! The only minor qualm i have is that whenever i startup my computer the profile reverts to the default.
Hey, that's cool. How do you like the 2 extra buttons on the ring and pinky finger side? They shouldn't be a problem if you don't program them for the specific game right?

Maybe you should make a copy of the default profile, save it to another safe storage and then overlap the existing default profile with your own profile? I haven't had a problem like that before. I have both the Kinzu and the Ikari. I really enjoy using the Ikari even for regular use and not gaming. My Ikari's scroll wheel is making high pitched squeeking sounds. Not sure why though. My Kinzu is having a problem of constantly double clicking when I single click. No idea why this is happening to my mice. I haven't had them for long either.

11-10-2011, 14:44:04

Philib
Im thinking of buying it. What's the warranty like. Looking around it seems like its only 1 year.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.