SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review

Kinzu v2 Pro Up Close

SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review

Kinzu v2 Pro Up Close

The smaller brother to the Kana is the Kinzu v2 Pro. Here in limited edition silver, but also available in red and black. The standard Kinzu v2 is in yellow, white, orange and black, so you've got a lot of coordination options. Of course the downside to a shiny silver mouse in a plastic cover is you get a reflection of my orange OC3D t-shirt, but don't worry it's purely silver as you'll see in the lower photos.

SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review     SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review  

Although we haven't got the two-tone cable braiding we saw on the Kana the Kinzu still has the same high quality, soft braid on the cable.

SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review     SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review  

The Kinzu is very much a pared down mouse, lacking any side buttons at all. All we have is a soft plastic that nicely inverts the setup of the Kana.

SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review     SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review  

The Sensei is the biggest of the three in this stable, with the Kana a few mm smaller and the Kinzu smaller still. They're by no means tiny with the Kinzu being 117mm long and the Kana 124mm. 

SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review     SteelSeries Kana and Kinzu v2 Pro Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2012, 08:52:09

tinytomlogan


Fancy all the benefits of a bonkers sensor but don't need all the multi-button frippery? SteelSeries might have just the ticket.

Continue Reading

12-03-2012, 09:05:51

MaXiMiZe
Nice review. Steelseries mice are top notch as I own a Ikari laser

12-03-2012, 09:06:32

Umzok
Do you think Steelseries will ever do a left-handed mouse?

12-03-2012, 09:39:09

dipzy
Being a owner of both Kinzu V1 and V2, i can say the sensor is an improvement over the V1. Glides very smoothly over my mouse mat, allowing me to improve aiming in FPS such as BF3 (slowly improving my aim)

12-03-2012, 10:26:16

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umzok View Post

Do you think Steelseries will ever do a left-handed mouse?
This are both ambidextrous which I think is as close as you'll ever get. I can't think of a single left-handed only mouse off the top of my head.

With the ability to swap the buttons over in the SteelSeries Engine software, it's as left-handed as you could hope for I believe.

12-03-2012, 11:30:46

Umzok
A good 90% of left-handed gamers I know have a DeathAdder. Not saying it's a bad mouse but that it has literally zero competition which I find odd!

13-03-2012, 17:53:56

911^NEmeSis
I thought that the Xai, Kinzu and the Sensei were all good for left handers?

Didn't the Deathadder have some sort of DPI problems when you configured it to 1600DPI or something along those lines? Don't remember to well.

14-03-2012, 00:25:50

CocaCola
Always delighted to see your reviews Bryan. Thank you so much.

I think I would have liked to see at least more consistency for the Kana, like a 'soft grip' on the sides as well. That would have been very nice. This is probably digressing from both the mice, nit does anyone think Steelseries will release another version of the Ikari Laser?

14-03-2012, 05:46:22

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911^NEmeSis View Post

I thought that the Xai, Kinzu and the Sensei were all good for left handers?

Didn't the Deathadder have some sort of DPI problems when you configured it to 1600DPI or something along those lines? Don't remember to well.
I thought the problem with the southpaw Deathadder was a bugged 'on the fly' dpi changer, where pressing the change dpi buttons actually did nothing. But that was ages ago and something like that seems like a software issue that can be patched, so it should be fixed by now, but I'm not 100%.

As for gaming mouse for lefties, the Deathadder is the only dedicated ergonomically left handed gaming mouse. So the best you'll get is an ambidextrous mouse. I use my right hand for mice, but I find the Steelseries ambidextrous mice to be extremely comfortable, but that's just me. Based of that, I assume they should be fine for lefties as well.

@Umzok. I doubt Steelseries will make a left handed mouse, because 90% of people are right handed, so it's a significantly smaller market to develop a product for. Also many lefties use their right hands for mice anyway, which decreases the market even further.

14-03-2012, 15:53:29

911^NEmeSis
@Zeals,

Yeah, something along those lines mate. The SteelSeries mice just looked pretty ambidextrous to me and I think it said so on it's packaging or somewhere...

The Deathadder is certainly a good mouse, but personally I would just prefer a Xai or Sensei, though I don't even own one myself. Sensors on the SS mouse seem pretty decent as I hear.

I use an old school MX518 myself so yeah
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.