SteelSeries Ikari Laser Gaming Mouse

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
SteelSeries Ikari LaserSo it's quite clear that the SteelSeries Ikari sailed through our testing with flying colours and performed exactly as expected. So how does it stack up to it's competitors? Well, on paper it loses out in polling rate achieving half of the 1000Hz that the comparably priced offerings from Roccat, Logitech and Razer have. When compared to a Roccat Kone mouse, the difference in polling rate wasn't particularly noticeable and as such didn't hinder it's capabilities. To me, the main selling points of the mouse was it's conservative looks, it's excellent, easy to use software and it's “on the fly” DPI adjustments combined with the inbuilt LCD display. It's build quality was also more than satisfactory and included a couple of nice touches such as braided cabling.
 
While I am unable to report anything else about the mouse, which makes it stand out against other proven competitors, I can say that it's a more than worthy alternative to similar mice and without any hesitation, recommend it. A top notch product and many thanks to SteelSeries for giving us the opportunity to review their product.
 
The Good
– Excellent build quality
– Comfortable
– Robust configuration software
– Respectable styling
– LCD display is useful
 
The Mediocre
– Slightly more aggressive pricing would have sealed the deal
 
The Bad
– None to report.
 
Overclock3D Recommended Award 
  
Discuss this review in our Forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-07-2009, 07:55:22

JN
"Not looking for a mouse that's more blinged out with lights than a chav's Nova? Then maybe the SteelSeries Ikari Laser is the mouse for you." - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...211902736s.jpg

SteelSeries Ikari Laser Gaming Mouse

17-07-2009, 08:00:53

zak4994
It looks really really cheap in terms of build quality. But the review says different.

17-07-2009, 08:12:21

JN
It actually reminds me of the Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 a little bit. Now that was an AWESOME mouse.

17-07-2009, 10:01:56

Rastalovich
Sweet review, seems a bit pricey, but then there are gaming keyboards for 100 at times. Perhaps this is what they feel they can get away with also.

Looks like it's designed for an evil left-handed person ?

Anywho I'm a trackball>mouse person.

17-07-2009, 10:56:29

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
It looks really really cheap in terms of build quality. But the review says different.
I think it's bland looks are what makes it appear cheap. The build quality isn't bad at all if I may say so!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Sweet review, seems a bit pricey, but then there are gaming keyboards for 100 at times. Perhaps this is what they feel they can get away with also.

Looks like it's designed for an evil left-handed person ?

Anywho I'm a trackball>mouse person.
I thought so at first but it fits in the right hand very well. The right hand side which has been moulded to plant down the third and fourth finger seems to make it look like a lefty mouse.

20-07-2009, 06:10:54

Skiddywinks
I'd buy one on payday if it wasn't for the price. The fact of the matter is that it is less impressive when compared to the competition, both specs-wise and looks-wise, so why is it the same price?

20-07-2009, 13:41:08

Santa-san
Looks interesting

04-09-2010, 13:53:24

Delusion77
Came across this review while looking for the bitfenix logo, I personally own this mouse and it is the most comfortable mouse ever made (IMO). It has a really nice build quality and i just love it.

05-09-2010, 13:36:48

AMDFTW
no thanks,ile stick to Razer lol
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.