SteelSeries Diablo III Mouse and Headset Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

SteelSeries Diablo III Mouse and Headset Review

Introduction

If you have even a passing interest in gaming then you're bound to have played Blizzard's excellent Diablo 2. A role-playing game distilled down to its essence, all about dungeon crawling and loot. We all like loot.

Considering that Diablo 2 is still played by large numbers of people it's not a great surprise to find that since the announcement of Diablo III back in 2008 the gaming community has been salivating in anticipation. Now with the release only a couple of months away it's time to get yourself kitted out in readiness.

Enter SteelSeries and their Diablo III Headset and Diablo III Mouse.

Are these enough to sate our impatience for the game itself? Will it hack and slash its way to the top of the pile? Read on.

Technical Specifications

Headset

The headset clearly takes its influence from the excellent Siberia V2 which is one of the most well-rounded and best value headsets on the market. If you're going to base your branded product upon anything then the V2 is a great choice.

  • Retractable microphone system
  • Crystal clear high, low and mid-tones
  • Optimized soundscape specific for Diablo gameplay
  • In-line volume and mute controls with a gold-plated, USB connection
  • Powered by SteelSeries Engine software, can configure illumination settings, equalizer presets and microphone volume
  • 50mm driver units
  • Lightweight suspension construction
  • ON/OFF Diablo III-themed, Illumination options
  • Custom Diablo III design


Mouse

The 7 button, 5700 DPI Diablo III mouse looks just like the SteelSeries Kai and Sensei, being a very sleek ambidextrous design. Despite the obvious design influence SteelSeries assure us that the hardware and firmware are all unique to the Diablo III. Even if it isn't that wouldn't be a bad thing given our love for the Sensei.

  • Easy Setup :           Easy Drag and Drop Diablo III skills and functions to mouse buttons
  • OSX & Windows :  Diablo III look and feel driver for Mac OS X and Windows
  • Durability :            10 million clicks per switch. 3x that of normal gaming mice
  • Demon Red :          3 illuminated zones including scroll wheel, CPI indicator and the Diablo III logo
  • Technology :          Best-in-class technology provides extreme precision and reliability
  • Ambidextrous :      Finely engineered shape suits all grips to ensure maximum control and comfort
  • Counts Per Inch :  Scalable pointer speed up to 5,000 CPI in increments of 1
  • Lift Distance :        Automatically adjusted lift distance locked to ~1mm across surfaces
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-12-2011, 05:28:26

tinytomlogan


With the release of Diablo III now within touching distance we take a look at a couple of products sure to whet your appetite.

Continue Reading

23-12-2011, 06:03:53

trazomfr
Two elements of quality, but copyright Blizzard fills the bill. I find it strange that accesories are available before the game. This happens often?

23-12-2011, 06:38:39

VonBlade
Yes it's a regular occurrence. Don't forget that adding branding to a product is a lot easier than creating and bug-testing a game. Additionally, Blizzard are known for releasing their products late. Diablo III isn't late yet, but StarCraft II took its time.

23-12-2011, 08:03:48

StreekG
I have been tempted to buy a second mouse to switch over too, something simple like this for Diablo 3, rather than using my RAT7 which i do a lot of FPS on.

I have been tossing up between the Diablo 3 mouse and the Sensei, i remember Toms review of the Sensei was fantastic so i might go with that...

23-12-2011, 08:18:03

trazomfr
Thank you for that clarification VonBlade.

23-12-2011, 09:11:47

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreekG View Post

I have been tossing up between the Diablo 3 mouse and the Sensei, i remember Toms review of the Sensei was fantastic so i might go with that...
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/input_devices/steelseries_sensei_gaming_mouse_review/1

If you're going to quote who wrote something, it helps to get it right

23-12-2011, 09:29:47

F-alienware
If Razer hand over their new Star Wars products LMK. I'll be round to burgle your houses within the hour

I don't usually fall for that crap, but GOD DAMN that kit is incredible.

23-12-2011, 21:53:27

CocaCola
The Diablo 3 portion that lights up looks really cool. But, I'd much rather go for the Sensei.

24-12-2011, 05:27:14

StreekG
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/input_devices/steelseries_sensei_gaming_mouse_review/1

If you're going to quote who wrote something, it helps to get it right
Lol whoops, too used to watching his review videos.

06-09-2012, 04:26:44

Dinoslawski
Just a friendly heads up - a good friend of mine bought the Diablo 3 mouse and the graphics on it started to come off in the first month of use. Pretty bad deal considering how they brag about durability of a mouse.

08-09-2012, 00:16:33

CPMFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinoslawski View Post
Just a friendly heads up - a good friend of mine bought the Diablo 3 mouse and the graphics on it started to come off in the first month of use. Pretty bad deal considering how they brag about durability of a mouse.
they look pretty solid... i didnīt think it would only last a month
did he send it back?

08-09-2012, 01:24:03

Dinoslawski
He didn't bother with it. He just soled it to another guy for almost same price he bought it for - didn't seem to bother the other guy.

Other than that he said the mouse of great. It felt great in the hand and was joy to play with, but he just felt cheated somehow. I was surprised myself since you hear nothing but good things about Steelseries.

08-09-2012, 13:40:26

Yeren
fuuny how this subject has come up, but something completely unrelated to the comments, i tried to read the review, i click on continue reading, then you click anywhere on the screen and all it does is take you to that stupid advert on the sides.

anyone else geting this? and i mean click ANYWHERE

08-09-2012, 23:37:53

CPMFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinoslawski View Post
He didn't bother with it. He just soled it to another guy for almost same price he bought it for - didn't seem to bother the other guy.

Other than that he said the mouse of great. It felt great in the hand and was joy to play with, but he just felt cheated somehow. I was surprised myself since you hear nothing but good things about Steelseries.
thats alright then...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.