Steelseries 7G

A Close Look

Having disposed of our comprehensive packaging the SteelSeries 7G is laid bare. A quick glance shows why the box was so huge, with the wrist rest being a very substantial effort. Often a rest is either so stubby that it doesn't actually help with the positioning of your wrists and so is more of an aesthetic device, or it's so flimsy it is more of a hindrance than a useful aspect of the product.

SteelSeries have circumvented this normally problematic aspect by producing a wrist rest that surrounds the entire keyboard. No longer do you have to choose between simplicity or practicality. It slips over the top of the keyboard with no fastenings needed, and has a gradual enough gradient to improve your typing comfort. Taking the rest of to reveal the 7G in its naked state we see how compact the design is. 

Measuring a standard 480 x 250mm it makes great use of the real estate it has by filling every corner with a key. The simplicity of the layout is very pleasing after some of the busier keyboards that we've seen recently. Completely devoid of lights, LCD screens, a plethora of macro buttons, marching bands and it doesn't make the tea. It does type like a dream, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

       

Turning the keyboard upside down two things are readily apparent. Firstly the excellent "thigh holes" that allow the 7G to be used on your lap comfortably. I'd never thought of these before, but the moment you see them you wonder why every keyboard doesn't come with them. A brilliant addition that genuinely works. Secondly the very large rubber pads on the four corners of the 7G ensure it wont slip. Given the weight of the keyboard you'd have to be a hippopotamus to get it to move anyway, and the really sticky and large pads on the bottom ensure that it definitely wont.

Finally we take a very close-up look at how crisp the lettering is on the keys and how efficiently SteelSeries have utilised the space available.

     

Opening the bag that appeared conspicuously at the top of the preceding photographs we find a few of the add-ons that SteelSeries provide. Firstly is the ubiquitous manual, this time coming complete with instructions more comprehensive than I've found on some far more complex devices, so kudos to SteelSeries there. It also comes with the key bindings that the go-to gamer of the moment, SK.SpawN uses, should you feel that settings rather than practise are the key to victory. Pun ahoy.

Secondly is the general advertising leaflet, although in keeping with the tangible quality that exudes from every fibre of this keyboard it's not a flimsy piece of photocopied paper. Also provided is a large SteelSeries sticker should you wish to advertise your loyalties. We can also see the PS2 to USB adaptor, should you require it, and the braided cables which are so fabulous they will be looked at below.

On the right is the back left corner of the 7G, with two USB ports and a microphone and headphone jack. Always useful if you've got your own settings on a thumb-drive and your own choice of headset at a LAN, or just like having things to hand at home.

    

The cables are nothing short of stunning. At just over 6 foot long they are the perfect length to fit round even the largest of case and desk arrangements, whilst never being stretched. All four of the cables, a USB for the ports, a PS2 connector and the two sound cables to re-route the audio and microphone to the rear of the keyboard, are gold-plated and not just barely enough to count as gold-plated on the blurb, but a really quality gold finish that's very difficult to photograph and do justice to. It's unlike anything on a lower-priced model.

That's not even the best part though. Easily the best part is the braiding. The cables are braided with an incredibly dense weave in a really deep black and is as soft as a kittens tummy. Both ends of the braid are finished in great quality too without the "meh it's done" you see on lesser braiding efforts. For a manufacturer to be able to supply such wonderful quality really shows how far the industry has come along.

    

Just to show that all four cables have been braided to the same exceptional standard, and because a picture paints a thousand words, here is a last look before we test.

   

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2010, 07:14:54

tinytomlogan
VonBlade takes a look at the Steelseries 7G keyboard.

Continue Reading

06-02-2010, 07:20:57

cl0ck_ed
Looks solid, but could I justify the cost?? No!

06-02-2010, 07:27:50

zak4994
Aesthetically, it looks generic.

06-02-2010, 07:51:06

Diablo
Whilst you aren't specific on the LCD embedded keyboard, I wonder if you have used a G19? Whilst the steelseries is undoubtedly exceptional, I find the G19 to be signinficantly above average for general use and the macro keys would be missed even around the desktop and in typing documents.

Overall good review though.

06-02-2010, 08:49:02

mayhem
Lol .. wow thats alot of money to invest in a keybord esp since its realy not that special ... Hmm i think that is serisly over priced for a pritty standard keybord with gold plating.....

I still think the original cherry keybords are better and lets be honist here. if you think thats going to make you a batter player in games you are so wrong lol the only way to get better in games is to play them properly.

allso the sound jacks to the keybord sound good but come on when your playing games do u realy want any wires near you kd at all. Not a chance ...

if they had a lcd and some nice real macro keys then it might be worth it but other wise thats just a show off peace of equipment that is for people with more money than sense.

07-02-2010, 06:51:39

TWeaKoR
While I'm sure that it's top in terms of design and quality, I just can't see it being worth that much. Fair enough, they've cut no corners on making it perform, but I get the feeling that a lot of the cost goes into the 'we're the best' factor rather than how much it costs to design and produce. I just don't see the point of getting one of these unless you've got more money than sense and really need that tiny bit extra when there are plenty of other products out there that perform to similar level and cost half the price.

07-02-2010, 19:06:16

CrissTM
In Germany its going to be round 150 . lol, NO WAY !!!

... others r paying that amount of money for a cpu !!!

07-02-2010, 20:58:00

Freak
missing a word on the second page

"On the is a close up"

spelling:

tolerances used as perfect and it neither f

btw, replying on article doesnt like what i typed. it posts 1 line then finishes with /;

08-02-2010, 08:42:36

bondboy
Great review! This is a fantastic keyboard, i love the simplicity of it and the feel of the keys are strangely satisfying (sounds weird I know, but seriously it is!)

08-02-2010, 10:32:59

Nushibo
Cool board, Price point = blah

08-02-2010, 11:38:50

Youngie1337
Which is when sponsorship comes into play!

10-02-2010, 05:46:51

esdeexx
Not even media buttons! I'm not buying a keyboard without those. This look like a perfect keyboard, if only it had 1 or 2 buttons for playback :-o

22-02-2010, 08:52:56

rpsgc
It has media buttons, pseudo-media buttons. You can see them here:

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2010/02/04220208535l.jpg

You use the Steelseries key (left side, replacing Windows key) like an FN key.

09-03-2010, 15:31:32

Steve-O-
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!

09-03-2010, 16:10:26

rpsgc
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Steve-O-'
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!
You might want to hold off on that one. The 6Gv2 is just around the corner and is significantly cheaper (no audio/usb hub or wrist rest though).

It has a regular size backspace key too.

22-03-2010, 18:32:33

Steve-O-
So I broke down and bought one of these bad boys. My current keyboard only allows me to use 3 keys at a time. I'm a hardcore gamer and constantly use all five of my fingers while playing FPSs. I can see myself using one finger to push 2 keys now when it arrives.

I also appreciate the work done to make this thing last forever. This is definitely an investment just like a nice car or good pair of jeans. I don't need LCD screens on my keyboard as I'm distracted enough by just the scoreboard. :P

24-03-2010, 16:23:15

Steve-O-
Just reporting back in. I have the keyboard in my hands now and typing on it as we speak. This things feels great. The build quality really is superb and if you don't have a PS/2 connection on your PC as far as I can tell you can still use at least 5 keys at a time with the USB converter.

I can understand why some people would be rift about the backspace key not being full size. And the LED lights for the Num Lock and etc really are bright. They seem like the ones used in my dad 14 LED flashlight!

No real other quirks I can think of right now. This thing is lovely to type on.

Looks like I won't need to purchase a new keyboard for a very long time.

24-03-2010, 17:56:18

VonBlade
Glad you're loving it. It is built like a tank.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.