Steelseries 7G

External Packaging

Sturdy doesn't begin to cover it. Firstly this is an exceptionally large box. Measuring in at 22 inches x 12.5 inches it could double as a table in an emergency. The look is exceptionally professional with a very clean and clear design. That deep charcoal box with a fade logo is used throughout the SteelSeries range and looks as good here as it has on their other products. The enormous 7G leaves nobody in any doubt about which model this is and the Pro Gaming logo beneath emphasises the purpose this is designed for.

Moving to the other side is a clear window that shows a good view of the 7G, something we always like to see here at OC3D. Below the window is the standard list of specifications and details.

       

Turning the box over gives us a far more complicated look than the front, but nothing unusual for a product of this type. The more detailed information is always on the back, to help those of us who've actually picked the product up. In this case it looks busier than it really is thanks to the use of 10 languages. A nice touch by SteelSeries is to use a product photo that demonstrates the 7G both in its wrist-rest and unadorned states. 

On the is a close up of the SteelSeries feature highlights. If you've clicked the picture to view the large version you'll probably already be anticipating some of the detail shots on the next page. 

       

Sliding the external box off we see the level SteelSeries have stretched to make sure the 7G exudes quality throughout. Whereas a lot of companies would be happy with just the internals being as we can see them on the right, SteelSeries have provided an extra level of thick stiff cardboard to protect the keyboard as much as is humanely possible.

Sliding this off, a very easy procedure as the tolerances used as perfect and it neither flaps about nor is harder to remove than ink from your favourite shirt, we see the next layer of protection. Also at this point notice the thickness of the surrounding edge. This is the same quality and thickness as the top sheet we've just removed and so should give you an indication of what your money buys.

Keeping the keyboard secure are to pieces of perfectly designed polystyrene that fit exactly around the keyboard. Whilst some cheaper products use low-density polystyrene that very easily breaks and dents, this is sturdy indeed. It's akin to the density difference between hi-impact foam and a bath-sponge.

       

With the packaging removed, it's as good a time as any to get a close look at the 7G itself.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2010, 07:14:54

tinytomlogan
VonBlade takes a look at the Steelseries 7G keyboard.

Continue Reading

06-02-2010, 07:20:57

cl0ck_ed
Looks solid, but could I justify the cost?? No!

06-02-2010, 07:27:50

zak4994
Aesthetically, it looks generic.

06-02-2010, 07:51:06

Diablo
Whilst you aren't specific on the LCD embedded keyboard, I wonder if you have used a G19? Whilst the steelseries is undoubtedly exceptional, I find the G19 to be signinficantly above average for general use and the macro keys would be missed even around the desktop and in typing documents.

Overall good review though.

06-02-2010, 08:49:02

mayhem
Lol .. wow thats alot of money to invest in a keybord esp since its realy not that special ... Hmm i think that is serisly over priced for a pritty standard keybord with gold plating.....

I still think the original cherry keybords are better and lets be honist here. if you think thats going to make you a batter player in games you are so wrong lol the only way to get better in games is to play them properly.

allso the sound jacks to the keybord sound good but come on when your playing games do u realy want any wires near you kd at all. Not a chance ...

if they had a lcd and some nice real macro keys then it might be worth it but other wise thats just a show off peace of equipment that is for people with more money than sense.

07-02-2010, 06:51:39

TWeaKoR
While I'm sure that it's top in terms of design and quality, I just can't see it being worth that much. Fair enough, they've cut no corners on making it perform, but I get the feeling that a lot of the cost goes into the 'we're the best' factor rather than how much it costs to design and produce. I just don't see the point of getting one of these unless you've got more money than sense and really need that tiny bit extra when there are plenty of other products out there that perform to similar level and cost half the price.

07-02-2010, 19:06:16

CrissTM
In Germany its going to be round 150 . lol, NO WAY !!!

... others r paying that amount of money for a cpu !!!

07-02-2010, 20:58:00

Freak
missing a word on the second page

"On the is a close up"

spelling:

tolerances used as perfect and it neither f

btw, replying on article doesnt like what i typed. it posts 1 line then finishes with /;

08-02-2010, 08:42:36

bondboy
Great review! This is a fantastic keyboard, i love the simplicity of it and the feel of the keys are strangely satisfying (sounds weird I know, but seriously it is!)

08-02-2010, 10:32:59

Nushibo
Cool board, Price point = blah

08-02-2010, 11:38:50

Youngie1337
Which is when sponsorship comes into play!

10-02-2010, 05:46:51

esdeexx
Not even media buttons! I'm not buying a keyboard without those. This look like a perfect keyboard, if only it had 1 or 2 buttons for playback :-o

22-02-2010, 08:52:56

rpsgc
It has media buttons, pseudo-media buttons. You can see them here:

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2010/02/04220208535l.jpg

You use the Steelseries key (left side, replacing Windows key) like an FN key.

09-03-2010, 15:31:32

Steve-O-
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!

09-03-2010, 16:10:26

rpsgc
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Steve-O-'
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!
You might want to hold off on that one. The 6Gv2 is just around the corner and is significantly cheaper (no audio/usb hub or wrist rest though).

It has a regular size backspace key too.

22-03-2010, 18:32:33

Steve-O-
So I broke down and bought one of these bad boys. My current keyboard only allows me to use 3 keys at a time. I'm a hardcore gamer and constantly use all five of my fingers while playing FPSs. I can see myself using one finger to push 2 keys now when it arrives.

I also appreciate the work done to make this thing last forever. This is definitely an investment just like a nice car or good pair of jeans. I don't need LCD screens on my keyboard as I'm distracted enough by just the scoreboard. :P

24-03-2010, 16:23:15

Steve-O-
Just reporting back in. I have the keyboard in my hands now and typing on it as we speak. This things feels great. The build quality really is superb and if you don't have a PS/2 connection on your PC as far as I can tell you can still use at least 5 keys at a time with the USB converter.

I can understand why some people would be rift about the backspace key not being full size. And the LED lights for the Num Lock and etc really are bright. They seem like the ones used in my dad 14 LED flashlight!

No real other quirks I can think of right now. This thing is lovely to type on.

Looks like I won't need to purchase a new keyboard for a very long time.

24-03-2010, 17:56:18

VonBlade
Glad you're loving it. It is built like a tank.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.