Steelseries 7G

Introduction

   

Introduction

Input devices are usually the last thing people think about when they are spec'ing up their new rig. We can spend hours researching the latest data for graphics cards or motherboards, but when it comes to input devices we tend to do one of two things. Either we migrate the hardware we already own across to the new machine, which is what most people tend to do. Or, if we're looking for a little flash and flair we might consider looking at a new mouse.

Keyboards however are given desperately short shrift. Normally we don't bother to update unless it's dead or maybe, just maybe, we can make ourselves purchase something with lots of lights and gadgets. Considering that we probably use a keyboard the same amount you use a mouse and only slightly less than we stare at our monitors, quite why we don't give them the same consideration we give the rest of our purchases is strange. We barely look at them, and yet consider the visuals far more than we worry about how nice they are to type on or how long they will last. Anyone who knows how to touch-type knows how strange it is moving to a different keyboard so one that is built to last would be ideal.

This brings us to today's review.

SteelSeries 7G

If you've been patient enough to not skip on a page to get a look at the full item you are probably looking at the picture on the top of this page and wondering how sneaky we are being. After all, this is a gaming keyboard so just to the left of the picture must be a LCD screen or lots of bells and whistles. If you've glanced to the top of the page and seen the price you most definitely must be thinking there is. If you hadn't you have now so we've all caught up.

SteelSeries have taken a very different approach to the 7G Gaming Keyboard in that they haven't concentrated on giving you a ton of buttons you wont use and a bunch of lights that you'll want to turn off, instead they have put all their technology into making the 7G the most robust keyboard possibly on the planet. It does mean that those of you who consider something solely based upon its looks will need to bear with me. Those of us who value quality will be pleasantly surprised.

SteelSeries 7G highlights:

- No-click mechanical professional gaming keyboard
- 18K gold-plated connectors for extremely low latency
- Gaming grade lifetime: 50 million keystrokes
- Endorsed by the worlds best eSports-players

Enough of our pre-amble. Let's have a good look at the SteelSeries 7G.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-02-2010, 07:14:54

tinytomlogan
VonBlade takes a look at the Steelseries 7G keyboard.

Continue Reading

06-02-2010, 07:20:57

cl0ck_ed
Looks solid, but could I justify the cost?? No!

06-02-2010, 07:27:50

zak4994
Aesthetically, it looks generic.

06-02-2010, 07:51:06

Diablo
Whilst you aren't specific on the LCD embedded keyboard, I wonder if you have used a G19? Whilst the steelseries is undoubtedly exceptional, I find the G19 to be signinficantly above average for general use and the macro keys would be missed even around the desktop and in typing documents.

Overall good review though.

06-02-2010, 08:49:02

mayhem
Lol .. wow thats alot of money to invest in a keybord esp since its realy not that special ... Hmm i think that is serisly over priced for a pritty standard keybord with gold plating.....

I still think the original cherry keybords are better and lets be honist here. if you think thats going to make you a batter player in games you are so wrong lol the only way to get better in games is to play them properly.

allso the sound jacks to the keybord sound good but come on when your playing games do u realy want any wires near you kd at all. Not a chance ...

if they had a lcd and some nice real macro keys then it might be worth it but other wise thats just a show off peace of equipment that is for people with more money than sense.

07-02-2010, 06:51:39

TWeaKoR
While I'm sure that it's top in terms of design and quality, I just can't see it being worth that much. Fair enough, they've cut no corners on making it perform, but I get the feeling that a lot of the cost goes into the 'we're the best' factor rather than how much it costs to design and produce. I just don't see the point of getting one of these unless you've got more money than sense and really need that tiny bit extra when there are plenty of other products out there that perform to similar level and cost half the price.

07-02-2010, 19:06:16

CrissTM
In Germany its going to be round 150 . lol, NO WAY !!!

... others r paying that amount of money for a cpu !!!

07-02-2010, 20:58:00

Freak
missing a word on the second page

"On the is a close up"

spelling:

tolerances used as perfect and it neither f

btw, replying on article doesnt like what i typed. it posts 1 line then finishes with /;

08-02-2010, 08:42:36

bondboy
Great review! This is a fantastic keyboard, i love the simplicity of it and the feel of the keys are strangely satisfying (sounds weird I know, but seriously it is!)

08-02-2010, 10:32:59

Nushibo
Cool board, Price point = blah

08-02-2010, 11:38:50

Youngie1337
Which is when sponsorship comes into play!

10-02-2010, 05:46:51

esdeexx
Not even media buttons! I'm not buying a keyboard without those. This look like a perfect keyboard, if only it had 1 or 2 buttons for playback :-o

22-02-2010, 08:52:56

rpsgc
It has media buttons, pseudo-media buttons. You can see them here:

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2010/02/04220208535l.jpg

You use the Steelseries key (left side, replacing Windows key) like an FN key.

09-03-2010, 15:31:32

Steve-O-
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!

09-03-2010, 16:10:26

rpsgc
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Steve-O-'
I spent $130 on my Logitech MX3200 and HATE IT! I can only press maybe 3 keys at a time. Horribly renders my gaming performance as I regularly use 4-5 keys at a time.

Looks like this might be one of my next purchases!
You might want to hold off on that one. The 6Gv2 is just around the corner and is significantly cheaper (no audio/usb hub or wrist rest though).

It has a regular size backspace key too.

22-03-2010, 18:32:33

Steve-O-
So I broke down and bought one of these bad boys. My current keyboard only allows me to use 3 keys at a time. I'm a hardcore gamer and constantly use all five of my fingers while playing FPSs. I can see myself using one finger to push 2 keys now when it arrives.

I also appreciate the work done to make this thing last forever. This is definitely an investment just like a nice car or good pair of jeans. I don't need LCD screens on my keyboard as I'm distracted enough by just the scoreboard. :P

24-03-2010, 16:23:15

Steve-O-
Just reporting back in. I have the keyboard in my hands now and typing on it as we speak. This things feels great. The build quality really is superb and if you don't have a PS/2 connection on your PC as far as I can tell you can still use at least 5 keys at a time with the USB converter.

I can understand why some people would be rift about the backspace key not being full size. And the LED lights for the Num Lock and etc really are bright. They seem like the ones used in my dad 14 LED flashlight!

No real other quirks I can think of right now. This thing is lovely to type on.

Looks like I won't need to purchase a new keyboard for a very long time.

24-03-2010, 17:56:18

VonBlade
Glad you're loving it. It is built like a tank.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.