Saitek Eclipse II (2) USB Gamers Keyboard

Testing

Testing

As there no quantitive measures of a keyboards performance, you will have to rely on my judgement.

I have several keyboard that I have compared the Eclipse II to:

Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Dell Standard USB Keyboard
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Apple Pro Keyboard

saiteck eclipse II

I used the following environments for testing:

Gaming

Using Counter Strike: Source and Quake 4 Multiplayer I tested how the keyboards felt during gaming.

Extended Typing

I have used the keyboards for writing up several reviews and other longer periods of typing. This will show how easy and comfortable the keyboard is to type with.

Media Playback


I watched a DVD and listened to some music to see if the extended functions of the keyboard actually worked.

Results - Gaming

The main contenders here were the G15, the Eclipse and the Eclipse II. The other keyboards were just not as easy to use in gaming.

The Eclipse I and II are both extremely competent gaming keyboards. The soft-touch of the keys and the quick response time whilst gaming means that you frag easier. The G15 does not have quite as nice response on the keys (in my opinion) but the difference is minimal. The Logitech's assignable keys are good to have there whilst gaming, but you can do without them.

The Logitech wins here on features whilst the Eclipse and Eclipse II win on key touch.

Results - Extended Typing

I found that the Saitek Eclipse and Saitek Eclipse II were ahead in this test. The soft touch of the keys and more standard keyboard layout, along with the wrist rest meant that the Saitek keyboards were excellent and kept the RSI at bay.

Media Playback

The Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Eclipse II and the Logitech G15 were the main contenders here. The logitech is certainly very useful with the LCD display and the media keys on the Saitek came in very handy whilst playing back a DVD and music. I considered these to be a bit of a gimmick, but they do work well and I will use them from now onwards.

Overall View - Performance Saitek Eclipse II

The Eclipse II was on top, or a very close second place in all of the tests I put it through. This says something as it was facing some very good keyboards.

The touch of the keys is soft without being over-soft. They are positive and not "clacky" - something I am not keen on in a keyboard. Typing is incredibly comfortable and response times in games is excellent.

For gamers the Saitek Eclipse II really is at the top of the bunch - up there with the G15 from Logitech.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-10-2006, 06:55:47

FarFarAway
Check out the goodness here

13-10-2006, 07:15:14

Ham
Had a quick flick through. another fine reveiw. This a keeper?

13-10-2006, 07:58:26

BUFF
I just may have to buy 1 of these ...

13-10-2006, 08:00:02

FragTek
I've got one on my new rig and it's the cats meow. I don't miss all of the extra stuff that my G15 did a single bit! The ability to change the LED color on the fly is sweetness to say the least, and the key response is perfect. Love this board.

Great review kemp, I expect nothing but the best from you as usual

13-10-2006, 08:34:35

specialtech
it's Ayd @ Specialtech using the bosses log in

as usual another great review guys...keep it up

13-10-2006, 08:37:46

FragTek
That's a shame mate May I ask why you don't care for the board? Did something happen after some long-term use or something else?

13-10-2006, 11:15:17

Hyper
Nice review Kemp.

I am looking for a new keyboard aswell and was G15 all the way but this has changed my mind

13-10-2006, 11:17:08

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper
Nice review Kemp.

I am looking for a new keyboard aswell and was G15 all the way but this has changed my mind
Take a look at the extra bits that the G15 has. If you don't think you would use them/they're not worth the extra 17...then get this - great keyboard

13-10-2006, 11:35:22

Pyr0
nice review Kempez...

you make me wish my old keyboard had lasted a little while longer and broken this week instead of last now

that keyboard looks sweet

do you have the dimensions of it please?

is there any difference in size to the older eclipse ?

i'd like to buy one, but not sure if it would fit on the sliding tray for my keyboard and mouse.

13-10-2006, 11:36:05

Enigmachine
I use the G15's LCD all the time, but the chipping keys are really ugly to look at!

So if you're looking for a good-looking keyboard, the G15 might not be the right thing...

13-10-2006, 11:52:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigmachine
I use the G15's LCD all the time, but the chipping keys are really ugly to look at!

So if you're looking for a good-looking keyboard, the G15 might not be the right thing...
There's a thread on here somewhere mate about getting ur G15 replaced free if you have paint chipping off your keys. I would link ya, but i'm just off home

13-10-2006, 11:59:11

Enigmachine
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
There's a thread on here somewhere mate about getting ur G15 replaced free if you have paint chipping off your keys. I would link ya, but i'm just off home
Yeah, I've been on Logitech's "How to get a RMA" page for a week, I've jsut been too lazy/busy to call.

13-10-2006, 12:11:06

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Enigmachine'
Yeah, I've been on Logitech's "How to get a RMA" page for a week, I've jsut been too lazy/busy to call.
Well the keys musnt be that bad then

13-10-2006, 13:18:10

Enigmachine
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Well the keys musnt be that bad then
They are getting pretty bad - the bottom row spells "z-x-blob-v-b-blotch-spot-,-.-".

I just haven't paid too much attention because I know the keys by heart, since they don't have the accents printed on them.

13-10-2006, 15:34:22

Rastalovich
For me the G15 isn`t just the lcd, it`s the G-keys. Guess it depends what sort of games u play.

I`m finding my fingers in my left hand going lifeless tho >.<

13-10-2006, 15:44:56

glocktodahead
Ye I posted on this forum that you should get in touch with logitech, PV did it and got a new one

13-10-2006, 16:15:19

Enigmachine
I'm getting VOIP so probably next week I will call them and won't be put on hold using my cell phone... That's a real PITA.

I really hate phones. What a primitive communication system!

Anyway, back on topic, I'd love to have a Saitek to compare with my G15!

So far I haven't played any games that really needed the G keys, but I'm betting my coming 3-month binge of WoW will change that.

13-10-2006, 16:48:42

glocktodahead
WoW + G15 = awesome. I also d/l a css program that shows all ur stats so its pretty sweet

I would have bought the saitek eclipse II if I didn't scoop up my G15 for such a good price. Very nice review, keep up the good work
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.