Roccat KONE [+] Review

Conclusion

Roccat KONE Plus Review

Conclusion

For testing the Roccat Kone [+] was used as the main mouse for a week doing everything from Photoshop to browsing, Starcraft 2 to Battlefield Bad Company 2.

The primary two things that really make or break a rodent as a high quality useful input device are of course the quality of the sensor, and then the comfort.

On both counts the Kone [+] shines as brightly as any other Roccat product. The sensor is extremely responsive and accurate regardless of the setting. Sometimes these high-DPI lasers can be so highly tuned that the more precise settings aren't so impressive. The Kone [+] works perfectly at everything from the very bottom of the scale all the way up the the hyper-responsive 6000DPI.

Changing between these settings is also a joy with the DPI adjustment buttons being in a very ergonomic position but never hit by accident.

If there is one thing the Kone [+] definitely has it's prodigious levels of comfort. It's not too large or small even for my generously proportioned hands. The coating works well at providing grip without stickyness and isn't compromised no matter how intense and heated the action becomes. Even the right-handed nature of it isn't so extreme as to force you to hold it in a particular manner and if you can cope with opposite side buttons it would be suitable for a southpaw too. Adjustable weighting helps to keep everything where you want it to be even if you're a ham-fisted brute or a delicate flower.

Customisation is where the difference between good and great can be made and the Roccat has it in spades. The software is as comprehensive as you could ever wish to find giving you seemingly infinite control over button assignments, colour combinations and macros.

Actually the customisation gives us the only thing we can find to dislike about the Kone [+]. So many mice utilise two side buttons for back and forward that it's almost as much a default expected setting as the left and right buttons themselves. Of course we're not adverse to reinventing the wheel if it is an improvement but even after a week we never quite got used to having to press the back button and the left mouse button to go back on our browser/explorer. Unfortunately there is nowhere else to put the EasyShift [+] button as it's either on the side or nowhere.

The final slight quirk is that the button in front of the scroll wheel is just not at all within reach. You either have to have your hand in a postion that will guarantee RSI and makes scrolling hard, or just ignore that button entirely.

Those two things do limit some of the incredible personalisation you can perform and whilst you might get used to using a two-button combo to go back, you can't reposition the front button somewhere easier to reach. It's definitely not something we want to see moved to the thumb position where you're going to catch it every two minutes but relocating the EasyShift[+] button to either the front right corner of the mouse or as part of a three-button side suite would be a great improvement upon an otherwise flawless product.

Don't let that dissuade you though. This is a seriously high quality mouse from a company that has rapidly become one of the finest around. Sure a £65 price-tag is up there with the very highest priced mice, but it's one of the very highest quality and best performing ones.

Just because of slight button placement/use issues and that rather steep price-tag when compared to previous Roccat models, the Roccat Kone [+] is awarded our Silver Award for being exceptional, if slightly flawed.

If you can get used to the EasyShift[+] system and don't mind one of the buttons not being the easiest to reach, it's a Gold Winner. But for us that's just enough at this premium price point to drop an otherwise phenomenal product down to a Silver.

    

Thanks to Roccat for providing the Kone [+] for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-11-2010, 06:32:05

tinytomlogan
Roccat have stormed the market in recent times and now they return to upgrade the one that started it all, with the Kone [+]

Continue Reading

29-11-2010, 08:25:49

F-alienware
Very nice. I've heard good things about this mouse and it seems that early scroll wheel problems (it collapsing and falling in) have been resolved.

Looks nice too, could deffo see me using it. Can't say it's cheap though

Thanks for the review. I've been waiting for a VB review for a while, always makes for pleasurable reading

29-11-2010, 11:54:49

PC4Free
I've had mine for 3 weeks now and i love it

The only issue is that it doesn't support my pinky (no biggie )

The driver and customisation is awesome.

29-11-2010, 16:26:55

Heart
I've been eyeballing this mouse for awhile, it's in my top 3 choices to be sure.

16-04-2011, 07:39:10

Zeals
Just got this mouse over the Razer Mumba and Naga. Absolutely LOVE IT!

18-04-2011, 14:43:13

sotonswan
This is the most problematic mouse I've ever owned.

There is a very small aperture on the bottom leading to two sensors. If you get any dust/fluff/eyelashes in here (and it does seem to suck them in) then the responsiveness goes to hell and the mouse becomes very jumpy at any resolution.

There is no easy way I can see to dismantle the mouse and give it a good clean. So I'm forever blowing into the bottom of the damn thing.

No, it isn't drivers. As soon as I remove the obstacle the mouse works fine. Just wish it didn't suck muck in, and be extremely difficult to clean.

And compared to some rig/desk shots I've seen on here I have a pretty clean environment.

I have a really old logitech mouse on my other PC, which on inspection also seems to have an eyelash stuck in it, but becasue the aperture is so much wider the sensor is not impacted.

I might well ebay this and get something else. It's a pain.

HTH

01-05-2011, 03:29:43

Zeals
Well I'm using a hardmat and I won't seem to get the problem of dust clogging up the sensor, but when I changed to my old soft mat there was a lot of twitching due to dust on the sensor. The cause of the all dust gathering appears to be the sticker around the sensor. Most mice tend to leave that area immediately around the aperture void of anything that can cause dust to stick.

27-05-2011, 08:33:15

aliG
Hi lads, i have bad news, my roccat Kone + has died after 2 months of using :/ will try to contact sellers for exchange...

29-09-2011, 04:08:18

aliG
Well i changed my mouse, and it broke again after 2 months of using LOL (this time left mouse click)

29-09-2011, 06:50:03

Zeals
Durability is definitely the Achilles heel of this mouse, but for me it's the scroll wheel that keeps dying.

29-09-2011, 09:53:53

Lollipop
You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break

30-09-2011, 11:11:08

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break
Funny thing, I just fixed the scroll wheel problem, dust gumming up the wheel causes it to glitch. So if you blow the dust out it works like a charm, I assume some oil will increase the time between cleanings. Such a stupid, but simple fix >.<

16-12-2011, 09:07:13

X82
A bit late to this party to put it mildly, however, I thought I would share my thoughts on this mouse as I've used it for a while now.

Actually this is my 2nd mouse. I had to return my first due to scroll wheel issues, which roccat said it sounded like a defective sensor.

So far this 2nd one's wheel issues haven't surfaced.

Another issue I had was when I turned on my PC the other day, the mouse erased itself. All my custom profiles, dpi settings, everything gone. It was by chance I made a backup of the profiles the night before and restored it. But still, worrying.

Another problem is that the easyshift, can no be bound to certain keys.

I know its just me being picky, but I wanted it to be the scroll wheel right movement. Only main buttons can be easyshift. Not sure why, what difference does it make?

I love the mouse, don't get me wrong and I upgraded from a razer imperator to this.

I'm so tired and bored of paying out loads of money for razer products which aren't that great. I'm typing this on a razer blackwidow ultimate keyboard, and it keeps doing double S or L. I've spent about 15 minutes typing this, removing the double letters. Oh, and punched it twice.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.