Roccat KONE [+] Review

Software and Colouring

Roccat KONE Plus Review

Software

Easily the most important thing with any control device designed for high-end use is customisation and tweaking options. The Kone [+] is stacked so full it's almost overflowing.

Starting with the first tab, besides the profile creation and assignment which is available on all tabs, we have the main sensitivity adjustments. The DPI Switcher, controlled with the Plus and Minus buttons, can be set from anything between 1 and 5 different positions, fully customisable from 100DPI to 6000DPI. Although 100DPI would require a mousepad the size of Wembley Stadium. There is also an audio cue for each setting which actually speaks the exact DPI you're on rather than just the setting number and relying upon your memory. Details.

The buttons default to the following. The EasyShift[+] being button five, the standard back button, and the combination of that and then the other buttons doubles amount of assignments from 12 to 23. It's especially nice to be able to switch profiles on the fly should you play one or two games particularly often.

Roccat KONE Plus Review       Roccat KONE Plus Review

Speaking of games the Roccat software comes with a plethora of in-built profiles for a variety of games enabling you to very quickly assign commonly used controls in common games, as well as create your own specific ones. The main problem is that if, like me, you've spent years with your forward and back button in the same place you'll have to adjust because if you map button five to "back" as per normal it strips you of any EasyShift[+] abilities as that cannot be mapped elsewhere which is quite a shame.

Personalisation of colours is comprehensive. There are four main lights which can be set to 35 different colours. You can turn individual ones on or off, have one colour for all lights or utterly different ones across the board. They can blink, breathe, be on, be off or have a fairly convincing heartbeat effect. Finally the colours can be cycled using "Color Flow" is any direction you want, or not at all. There is no doubt that if you desire anything from no lights at all to a ever changing pulsing chromatic array, the Kone[+] gives you the choice.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review  

So with everything as fast as you desire, and it the right colour, we move on to the advanced options. You can adjust vertical and horizontal sensitivity separately so if you're playing something in which the ability to strafe is more important than any threats from the sky, you can lessen the likely-hood of accidentally staring at your toes.

Tracking control is taken care of automatically with the laser taking a map of your surface and adjusting as necessary. This is highly effective and although the image we're using here is from my "none more black" gaming surface, it works just as well at recognising anything from your lap to the dog.

It's also possible to adjust the lift-off distance, polling rates, audio feedback and even the mouse pointer should you wish to do so.

Roccat KONE Plus Review      Roccat KONE [+] Review

Finally the always important driver upgrade and support screen. A new driver and firmware package is about 20mb and doesn't take very long at all to install.

Roccat KONE Plus Review

Colour reproduction of LEDs is always tough to photograph as you either have pitch black to show them as saturated as they appear to the naked eye, so I've tried to give a variety for the shots. Just be aware that in actuality they are MUCH more saturated and brighter than they appear here with a far greater colour graduation than appears. The right hand edge of the right hand shot is probably the closest to replicating how it looks.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-11-2010, 06:32:05

tinytomlogan
Roccat have stormed the market in recent times and now they return to upgrade the one that started it all, with the Kone [+]

Continue Reading

29-11-2010, 08:25:49

F-alienware
Very nice. I've heard good things about this mouse and it seems that early scroll wheel problems (it collapsing and falling in) have been resolved.

Looks nice too, could deffo see me using it. Can't say it's cheap though

Thanks for the review. I've been waiting for a VB review for a while, always makes for pleasurable reading

29-11-2010, 11:54:49

PC4Free
I've had mine for 3 weeks now and i love it

The only issue is that it doesn't support my pinky (no biggie )

The driver and customisation is awesome.

29-11-2010, 16:26:55

Heart
I've been eyeballing this mouse for awhile, it's in my top 3 choices to be sure.

16-04-2011, 07:39:10

Zeals
Just got this mouse over the Razer Mumba and Naga. Absolutely LOVE IT!

18-04-2011, 14:43:13

sotonswan
This is the most problematic mouse I've ever owned.

There is a very small aperture on the bottom leading to two sensors. If you get any dust/fluff/eyelashes in here (and it does seem to suck them in) then the responsiveness goes to hell and the mouse becomes very jumpy at any resolution.

There is no easy way I can see to dismantle the mouse and give it a good clean. So I'm forever blowing into the bottom of the damn thing.

No, it isn't drivers. As soon as I remove the obstacle the mouse works fine. Just wish it didn't suck muck in, and be extremely difficult to clean.

And compared to some rig/desk shots I've seen on here I have a pretty clean environment.

I have a really old logitech mouse on my other PC, which on inspection also seems to have an eyelash stuck in it, but becasue the aperture is so much wider the sensor is not impacted.

I might well ebay this and get something else. It's a pain.

HTH

01-05-2011, 03:29:43

Zeals
Well I'm using a hardmat and I won't seem to get the problem of dust clogging up the sensor, but when I changed to my old soft mat there was a lot of twitching due to dust on the sensor. The cause of the all dust gathering appears to be the sticker around the sensor. Most mice tend to leave that area immediately around the aperture void of anything that can cause dust to stick.

27-05-2011, 08:33:15

aliG
Hi lads, i have bad news, my roccat Kone + has died after 2 months of using :/ will try to contact sellers for exchange...

29-09-2011, 04:08:18

aliG
Well i changed my mouse, and it broke again after 2 months of using LOL (this time left mouse click)

29-09-2011, 06:50:03

Zeals
Durability is definitely the Achilles heel of this mouse, but for me it's the scroll wheel that keeps dying.

29-09-2011, 09:53:53

Lollipop
You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break

30-09-2011, 11:11:08

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break
Funny thing, I just fixed the scroll wheel problem, dust gumming up the wheel causes it to glitch. So if you blow the dust out it works like a charm, I assume some oil will increase the time between cleanings. Such a stupid, but simple fix >.<

16-12-2011, 09:07:13

X82
A bit late to this party to put it mildly, however, I thought I would share my thoughts on this mouse as I've used it for a while now.

Actually this is my 2nd mouse. I had to return my first due to scroll wheel issues, which roccat said it sounded like a defective sensor.

So far this 2nd one's wheel issues haven't surfaced.

Another issue I had was when I turned on my PC the other day, the mouse erased itself. All my custom profiles, dpi settings, everything gone. It was by chance I made a backup of the profiles the night before and restored it. But still, worrying.

Another problem is that the easyshift, can no be bound to certain keys.

I know its just me being picky, but I wanted it to be the scroll wheel right movement. Only main buttons can be easyshift. Not sure why, what difference does it make?

I love the mouse, don't get me wrong and I upgraded from a razer imperator to this.

I'm so tired and bored of paying out loads of money for razer products which aren't that great. I'm typing this on a razer blackwidow ultimate keyboard, and it keeps doing double S or L. I've spent about 15 minutes typing this, removing the double letters. Oh, and punched it twice.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.