Roccat KONE [+] Review

A Closer Look

Roccat KONE Plus Review

A Closer Look

The original Kone had a light-up logo at the palm part of the mouse. This has now been changed to a large printed logo. Amazingly enough although you'd imagine this is a lessening of features it actually looks better in our opinion when the mouse is both lit and idle.

It's designed for right-handed users but isn't so insanely ergonomic as, for example, the Logitech MX Revolution that it's problematic for left-handed people. Obviously the button positioning is fixed but it's possible to use left-handed. The Kone [+] is coated with a very tactile rubberised coating that really makes the mouse feel soft and grippy without being squidgy or sticky. On the left hand side are the standard back and forward buttons you find on all mice, except the rear button is mapped by default to the EasyShift[+] function.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review  

Up front is where the real action is. The plus and minus buttons are there for on-the-fly DPI changing which can also have an audio cue should you so desire it. The scroll wheel is the type with specific notches as you scroll around rather than the fully smooth motion which should help weapon selection. It also scrolls in all four directions so you can move across documents as well as up and down them. In front fo that is another button that's assignable as we'll see on the next page.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review  

Underneath we have the 6000DPI laser as well as the place for any addition weight should you want to tune the Kone [+] to be heavier. The original Kone came with four differing weights whereas the Kone [+] comes with 4 5g weights instead. This is a far preferable system as it gives an extra level of tweaking should you wish all your weight to be in a certain direction.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review  

Speaking of the weights they come in a container that matches the rest of the design perfectly, although isn't the easiest thing to open in the world.

In keeping with the insane attention to detail even the USB plug is branded perfectly. A boon for any of us who've been round the back of our cases wondering which of the 6 identical black plugs is what.

Roccat KONE Plus Review     Roccat KONE Plus Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-11-2010, 06:32:05

tinytomlogan
Roccat have stormed the market in recent times and now they return to upgrade the one that started it all, with the Kone [+]

Continue Reading

29-11-2010, 08:25:49

F-alienware
Very nice. I've heard good things about this mouse and it seems that early scroll wheel problems (it collapsing and falling in) have been resolved.

Looks nice too, could deffo see me using it. Can't say it's cheap though

Thanks for the review. I've been waiting for a VB review for a while, always makes for pleasurable reading

29-11-2010, 11:54:49

PC4Free
I've had mine for 3 weeks now and i love it

The only issue is that it doesn't support my pinky (no biggie )

The driver and customisation is awesome.

29-11-2010, 16:26:55

Heart
I've been eyeballing this mouse for awhile, it's in my top 3 choices to be sure.

16-04-2011, 07:39:10

Zeals
Just got this mouse over the Razer Mumba and Naga. Absolutely LOVE IT!

18-04-2011, 14:43:13

sotonswan
This is the most problematic mouse I've ever owned.

There is a very small aperture on the bottom leading to two sensors. If you get any dust/fluff/eyelashes in here (and it does seem to suck them in) then the responsiveness goes to hell and the mouse becomes very jumpy at any resolution.

There is no easy way I can see to dismantle the mouse and give it a good clean. So I'm forever blowing into the bottom of the damn thing.

No, it isn't drivers. As soon as I remove the obstacle the mouse works fine. Just wish it didn't suck muck in, and be extremely difficult to clean.

And compared to some rig/desk shots I've seen on here I have a pretty clean environment.

I have a really old logitech mouse on my other PC, which on inspection also seems to have an eyelash stuck in it, but becasue the aperture is so much wider the sensor is not impacted.

I might well ebay this and get something else. It's a pain.

HTH

01-05-2011, 03:29:43

Zeals
Well I'm using a hardmat and I won't seem to get the problem of dust clogging up the sensor, but when I changed to my old soft mat there was a lot of twitching due to dust on the sensor. The cause of the all dust gathering appears to be the sticker around the sensor. Most mice tend to leave that area immediately around the aperture void of anything that can cause dust to stick.

27-05-2011, 08:33:15

aliG
Hi lads, i have bad news, my roccat Kone + has died after 2 months of using :/ will try to contact sellers for exchange...

29-09-2011, 04:08:18

aliG
Well i changed my mouse, and it broke again after 2 months of using LOL (this time left mouse click)

29-09-2011, 06:50:03

Zeals
Durability is definitely the Achilles heel of this mouse, but for me it's the scroll wheel that keeps dying.

29-09-2011, 09:53:53

Lollipop
You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break

30-09-2011, 11:11:08

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

You must be unlucky, my brother has had one for 7months and i just got one too, let's hope it doesn't break
Funny thing, I just fixed the scroll wheel problem, dust gumming up the wheel causes it to glitch. So if you blow the dust out it works like a charm, I assume some oil will increase the time between cleanings. Such a stupid, but simple fix >.<

16-12-2011, 09:07:13

X82
A bit late to this party to put it mildly, however, I thought I would share my thoughts on this mouse as I've used it for a while now.

Actually this is my 2nd mouse. I had to return my first due to scroll wheel issues, which roccat said it sounded like a defective sensor.

So far this 2nd one's wheel issues haven't surfaced.

Another issue I had was when I turned on my PC the other day, the mouse erased itself. All my custom profiles, dpi settings, everything gone. It was by chance I made a backup of the profiles the night before and restored it. But still, worrying.

Another problem is that the easyshift, can no be bound to certain keys.

I know its just me being picky, but I wanted it to be the scroll wheel right movement. Only main buttons can be easyshift. Not sure why, what difference does it make?

I love the mouse, don't get me wrong and I upgraded from a razer imperator to this.

I'm so tired and bored of paying out loads of money for razer products which aren't that great. I'm typing this on a razer blackwidow ultimate keyboard, and it keeps doing double S or L. I've spent about 15 minutes typing this, removing the double letters. Oh, and punched it twice.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.